Overview

Microsoft Teams is a collaboration and productivity tool that is included with Office 365. With Teams, you can chat with individuals or groups, hold video meetings, make audio/video calls, store and share files, and integrate with other applications.

Who can use this Service?

JMU faculty, staff and students

How can I get this Service?

Log in with your eID and password:
    Web: https://teams.microsoft.com
    Download clients: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/microsoft-teams/download-app

Faculty and staff may also download the Teams client from Software Center on managed, JMU-owned Windows computers, or JMU Self Service on managed, JMU-owned Macs.

Where can I get Help/Support?

Report questions or any issues through the IT Service Portal (its.jmu.edu) or contact the IT Help Desk.

Ask a Question

Report an Issue

JMU Quick Reference Guide 

Understanding the Teams icons

LinkedIn Learning offers Teams training courses


All James Madison University users must adhere to the University Guidelines for Data Storage and Collaboration.


Microsoft Teams Resources:

Getting Started

Quick Start Guide

Set-up and Customize your Team

Video Trainings

How to manage notifications

Accessibility – accessibility features in Microsoft Teams

FAQs

What Teams clients are supported by JMU?
Windows, macOS, iOS and Android.

What hardware requirements are needed for Teams?
See Microsoft’s article on hardware requirements for Teams.

Can I join a meeting or conference call from a computer that doesn't have a Teams client installed?
Yes, please see Microsoft's article on using Teams on the web.

Are there any online resources for help?
See Microsoft’s step-by-step video tutorials.

Where does Teams save my conversations?
Teams saves conversations in the Teams client, as well as a part of the user’s mailbox.

Why did I receive an error saying the name of the Team I’m trying to create is blocked?
JMU IT has implemented a blocked word list to protect the integrity of specific offices on campus. If you are trying to create a Team for your department, and cannot do so because of this restriction, submit a ticket through the IT Service Portal and IT will create the Team on your behalf.

I received an email saying my Team will be deleted. Is this real?
Yes. JMU IT has implemented a policy to expire and delete Teams after 395 days of inactivity. Teams owners will receive notifications if a Team meets the requirements for deletion 30 days, 15 days, and 1 day prior to the Team being deleted. To keep your Team, owners can click the Team Renewal button in the Team’s settings, or simply open any of the Team’s channels. Deleted Teams can be recovered for 30 days after deletion. After that point, Teams are no longer recoverable, and all files associated with the Team will be deleted.

Will my files stay in Teams?
Teams is not meant to be a long-time storage location for files. It is intended to be a collaboration space for short-term storage. As with all file storage solutions, IT recommends that you have a backup of your data. When a Team is deleted, its files are also deleted.

The person who created our Team is no longer with the University or has changed positions, what do we do?
Teams owners can be easily added or removed. Submit a request through the IT Service Portal and the ownership will be updated to reflect the change.

Why do I no longer see presence (little green/red/yellow dot) in Outlook now that I'm on Teams?
On the top of the Teams window, click on your initials then click Settings. Select "General" from the left column, and then check the box that says "Register Teams as the chat app for Office" under Application. Quit both Teams and Outlook and then reopen and presence should reappear.

What's the difference between a Public & Private Team?
Public Teams are open Teams that anyone in the organization can join.
Private Teams are only for invited users.

What's the difference between a Team and a Channel?
A Team is a collection of people, content, and tools. Channels are dedicated sections within a Team to keep conversations organized by specific topics, projects, disciplines, etc.

Can I delete a chat?
Posts in a chat can be deleted for up to 24 hours. After that point, posts cannot be deleted. Chats cannot be deleted, but they can be hidden from view if you feel that your window is too cluttered. Right click on the dots next to the chat in question, and choose "hide".

Back to Top