Students on the Quad.

Enrollment: 17,000

Founded: 1908 (as State Normal and Industrial School for Women at Harrisonburg; became the State Normal School for Women at Harrisonburg in 1914, the State Teachers College at Harrisonburg in 1924, Madison College in 1938 and James Madison University in 1977). The only university in America named for James Madison, the fourth president of the United States and primary author of the U.S. Constitution.

Students in front of Wilson.President:
Dr. Linwood H. Rose

Affiliation: State university of the Commonwealth of Virginia

AcademicDivisions: College of Arts and Letters, College of Business, College of Education, College of Integrated Science and Technology, College of Science and Mathematics, College of Graduate and Professional Programs, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Degree Programs: 104 (67 undergraduate; 30 master's, 2 educational specialist; 5 doctoral)

Full-Time Employees: 2,400 (1,200 instructional and administrative/professional staff; 1,200 staff)

Campus: 102 major buildings on 655 acres

Back to Top