Congratulations to the graduate students and faculty honored with Graduate School Awards and participants of the Graduate Showcase of Scholarship and Creative Activities!

The awards and events highlight the important contributions that graduate students make to the JMU community.

Thank you to the faculty and students who support the Graduate Showcase and Awards as program planners, reviewers and members of the juries.

We are proud of the accomplishments of all our graduate students.


Graduate School Achievement Awards

Outstanding Dissertation Awards

Dr. Raghav Jha
Communication Sciences and Disorders, Ph.D.
Committee Chair: Dr. Erin G. Piker

“Effects of age on Amplitude-modulated cVEMP Temporal Modulation Transfer Function”

Dr. Elizabeth Narehoo
Strategic Leadership Studies, Ph.D.
Committee Chair: Dr. Benjamin Selznick

“Leading a Community Promise: A Mixed Method Study Exploring the Dynamics of Adaptive Leadership and Student Success”

Outstanding Thesis Awards

Megan Moore
Communication and Advocacy, M.A.
Committee Chair: Dr. Kathryn Hobson

“Conversations with the “Queens of Lez,” “ChapStick Lesbians,” and Fellow Femmes; A Qualitative Exploration of Queer Femmeness, Femme Sex, and Femme Relationships”

Rysa Thomas
Biology, M.S.
Committee Chair: Dr. Rocky Parker

“Energy homeostasis in an extreme vertebrate: relationships between life-history status and the molecular stress response in red-sided garter snakes”

Civic Engagement Award

Doruntina Maliqi
Communication and Advocacy, M.A.

Community Engagement Award

Joshua Orndorff
Strategic Leadership Studies, Ph.D.

Showcase of Graduate Student Scholarship
& Creative Activity Awards

Graduate student presenters were awarded top honors from a jury of faculty.

Top Oral Presentation Award

Hannah Greer-Young
Master of Music, M.M.
The JMU Lab Band Initiative

Top Poster Presentation Award

Gabrielle Gieringer
Physician Asst Studies, M.P.A.S.
The effect of gut-directed hypnotherapy on alleviating symptoms of IBS in adults

Graduate Student Association Impact Awards

Oluwafemi Ayoola
Kinesiology, M.S.

Ruth Hurley
Doctor of Nursing Practice, D.N.P.

Award Winners by Year

Back to Top