All new graduate program proposals must go through a pre-approval process. Contact Michael Stoloff (stolofml@jmu.edu) and Kristi Shackelford (shackekl@jmu.edu).

All course and program approvals will be processed online here. Faculty members enter course and program information into secure Web forms and approvers are notified through email when course proposals are ready for review 

The online curriculum system is available for the following:

  • Creating new courses or programs
  • Modifying existing courses or programs
  • Deleting existing courses, programs, or concentrations
  • Requesting new subject identifiers


If you have problems accessing the above sites or have questions, please email curric@jmu.edu or call (540) 568-4064.

Graduate Council Process - The Graduate council has elected a curriculum committee that is responsible for reviewing and approving program and course additions, changes and deletions on behalf of the Graduate Council. This C&I Committee reviews curriculum from a university-wide perspective and considers, among other things:

  • The clarity of the proposal,
  • The appropriateness and value of the curriculum as graduate-level experiences,
  • Any potential impact of the curriculum offered by one department on other departments, and
  • Whether all departments agree to participate in programs that list courses offered by multiple departments.

This committee functions independently of the Graduate Council, will report its actions to the Graduate Council, and will seek the advice of the larger council before taking action on matters that are likely to have significant cross-university implications.

Graduate Council C & I Committee Membership (2019-20)

Members Representing
Corey Hickerson CAL
Rachelle Dorne CHBS
Brett Tjaden CISE
Nancy Nichols COB
Sara Snyder COE
Janet Daniel or Roshna Wunderlich CSM
Sarah Brooks (Fall), Lisa Tubach (Spring) CVPA
Jeanne Horst Doctoral Programs
Dana Haraway Master's Programs
Michael Stoloff Chair (non-voting)
Lynette Michael TGS (non-voting)
Kathryn Brown TGS (non-voting)
Kristi Shackelford Provost's Office (non-voting)

 

Dates & Deadlines 2019-2020

October 2019 | Curriculum Committee

Tuesday, October 8

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 3-4:00 pm

Tuesday, October 15

Evotes Due 

Friday, October 25

Proposals Due

Monday, October 28

Agenda Items Due

November 2019 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, November 4

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 10-11:00am

Monday, November 11

Evotes Due

January 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Friday, January 3

Proposals Due

Monday, January 6

Agenda Items Due

Monday, January 13

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 10-11:00am

Tuesday, January 21

Evotes Due

February 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Friday, January 24

Proposals Due

Monday, January 27

Agenda Items Due

Monday, February 3

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 10-11:00am

Monday, February 10

 Evotes Due

 March 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Friday, February 21

Proposals Due

Monday, February 24

Agenda Items Due

Monday, March 2

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 10-11:00am

Monday, March 16

 Evotes Due

April 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Friday, March 27

 Proposals Due

Monday, March 30

Agenda Items Due

Monday, April 6 

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Madison Hall, room 4010, 10-11:00am

Monday, April 13

Evotes Due

 

 Program Proposals

  • All proposals must be submitted through Curriculog, the online curriculum system (https://jmu.curriculog.com/). If you have any questions about using the online system, contact curric@jmu.edu.
  • College C&I committees, the college C&I chair and the dean must approve the proposal and move it to The Graduate School review status in Curriculog by the provided dates.
  • For general questions about the graduate C&I process, contact Michael Stoloff (stolofml@jmu.edu) or Kristi Shackelford (shackekl@jmu.edu).

Back to Top