All new graduate program proposals must go through a pre-approval process. Contact Michael Stoloff (stolofml@jmu.edu) and Paula Maxwell maxwelpj@jmu.edu.

All course and program approvals will be processed online here. Faculty members enter course and program information into secure Web forms and approvers are notified through email when course proposals are ready for review

The online curriculum system is available for the following:

  • Creating new courses or programs
  • Modifying existing courses or programs
  • Deleting existing courses, programs, or concentrations
  • Requesting new subject identifiers


If you have problems accessing the above sites or have questions, please email curric@jmu.edu or call (540) 568-4064.

Graduate Council Process - The Graduate council has elected a curriculum committee that is responsible for reviewing and approving program and course additions, changes and deletions on behalf of the Graduate Council. This C&I Committee reviews curriculum from a university-wide perspective and considers, among other things:

  • The clarity of the proposal,
  • The appropriateness and value of the curriculum as graduate-level experiences,
  • Any potential impact of the curriculum offered by one department on other departments, and
  • Whether all departments agree to participate in programs that list courses offered by multiple departments.

This committee functions independently of the Graduate Council, will report its actions to the Graduate Council, and will seek the advice of the larger council before taking action on matters that are likely to have significant cross-university implications.

Graduate Council C & I Committee Membership (2019-20)

Members Representing
Corey Hickerson CAL
Rachelle Dorne CHBS
Brett Tjaden CISE
Nancy Nichols COB
Eric Carbaugh COE
Janet Daniel CSM
Lisa Tubach CVPA
Jeanne Horst Doctoral Programs
Dana Haraway Master's Programs
Michael Stoloff Chair (non-voting)
Lynette Michael TGS (non-voting)
Kathryn Brown TGS (non-voting)
Paula Maxwell Provost's Office (non-voting)

 

Dates & Deadlines 2020-2021

September | Curriculum Committee

Monday, September 14

Proposals Due

Thursday, September 17

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, September 24

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, October 1

Evotes Due

October 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, October 12

Proposals Due

Thursday, October 15

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, October 22

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, October 29

Evotes Due

November 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Proposals Due

Agenda Items Due

No November Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting

Evotes Due

December 2020 | Curriculum Committee

Proposals Due

Agenda Items Due

No December Meeting

Curriculum Committee Meeting

Evotes Due

January 2021 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, January 18

Proposals Due

Thursday, January 21

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, January 28

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, February 4

Evotes Due

February 2021 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, Feburary 15

Proposals Due

Thursday, February 18

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, February 25

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, March 4

Evotes Due

March 2021 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, March 15

Proposals Due

Thursday, March 18

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, March 25

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, April 1

Evotes Due

April 2021 | Curriculum Committee

Monday, April 12

Proposals Due. This is the final deadline for the 2021-22 catalog.

Thursday, April 15

Agenda Items Due

Thursday, April 22

Curriculum Committee Meeting, Virtual Meeting, 2-3 pm

Thursday, April 29

Evotes Due

 

Program Proposals

  • All proposals must be submitted through Curriculog, the online curriculum system (https://jmu.curriculog.com/). If you have any questions about using the online system, contact curric@jmu.edu.
  • College C&I committees, the college C&I chair and the dean must approve the proposal and move it to The Graduate School review status in Curriculog by the provided dates.
  • For general questions about the graduate C&I process, contact Michael Stoloff (stolofml@jmu.edu) or Paula Maxwell (maxwelpj@jmu.edu).

Back to Top