Cover Photo Image
Recognizing CVPA Staff
Annual Staff Recognition Award

Congratulations to Halley Conrad, winner of the 2024 CVPA Staff Recognition Award!


The College of Visual and Performing Arts (CVPA) is proud of the accomplishments and commitment of all its staff. In recognition of the superlative achievements made by a CVPA staff member the college provides a Staff Recognition Award each spring. Every year, the staff sub-committee of the Dean’s Advisory Council reviews nominations for this award and recommends the recipient to the dean.

Halley Conrad, Administrative Assistant at the School of Art, Design and Art History, has been selected as the distinguished recipient of this year’s CVPA Staff Recognition Award!

Halley’s nominations note her attention to detail, timeliness, and care in her work. Despite being in a part-time position, she consistently goes above and beyond to ensure that the department runs smoothly.

In addition to her dedication to the unit, her considerate actions truly reflect her character. As noted in one nomination: “Halley always has a positive attitude, does her work quickly and efficiently, interfaces with students & faculty, and, despite being in a 30-hour (rather than full-time) position, always does little things for everyone to generate positivity. For example, she put a little Snoopy Valentine with a lollipop in everyone's mailbox!”

Halley is always ready to lend a helping hand, greet visitors with a warm smile, and ensure that everyone feels welcome in our office. Her can-do, problem-solving skills and willingness to go the extra mile have made a significant impact on the SADAH community.

Congratulations, Halley!

Recognizing CVPA Faculty

Distinguished Teacher
The Distinguished Teacher Award was established to honor faculty members annually for exemplary commitment to teaching. The James Madison University community strives to encourage excellence in the classroom and continues to make teaching and mentorship a priority.

Madison Scholar
The Madison Scholar is recognized for a record of outstanding scholarship/creative work and its dissemination through publication, exhibition, performance or other means.

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize a faculty member who provides exceptional professional-related service at the university, local and national levels.

Contact your AUH and AUPAC for nominations which are due to Associate Dean Wren Stevens at by 5:00 pm on Friday, September 29th, 2023.

Call for Nominees for Faculty Awards AY24

Career Recognition Award
In recognition of long-time work for the arts at JMU, school directors may annually recognize one full-time faculty member in their school with a Career Recognition Award. Formal recognition will occur at a university-wide faculty event in the spring semester and the reciepient will recieve a $1,000 honorarium.

See a list of past recipients of the CVPA Staff Recognition, Outstanding Junior Faculty, Outstanding Student Mentor, Distinguished Teacher, Madison Scholar and Distinguished Service awards.

Back to Top