General Education: The Human Community is JMU's Core Curriculum.  It is an essential part of every undergraduate program offered at JMU. Its learning outcomes are organized into five areas of study called clusters: 

  • Cluster One: Skills for the 21st Century 
  • Cluster Two: Arts and Humanities
  • Cluster Three: The Natural World
  • Cluster Four: Social and Cultural Processes
  • Cluster Five: Individuals in the Human Community

Courses in each cluster have been designed by JMU faculty to meet the specific learning outcomes associated with that academic discipline. In order to graduate, each student must complete all five clusters, which typically make up one-third of a student’s coursework, about 41 credit hours. 

Back to Top