Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Kappa Phi each present an annual award for the best Senior Honors Thesis, with a cash prize of $250 each. Students are nominated by their academic departments and attend the annual awards luncheon co-sponsored by Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Kappa Phi where the presidents of each chapter present a Best Thesis Award for their respective chapters.

2017 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Madeline Johnson (Sociology)
    Queer University: An Ethnographic Case Study of the Trans Student Experience of College Campus Space

  • Phi Kappa Phi: Naomi Gilbert (Biotechnology)
    Survey of microbial urea degrader diversity in two freshwater ecosystems: Lake Shenandoah and the Shenandoah River
2016 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Kirstie Ann Thompson (Chemistry)
    The Effect of Hofmeister Series Counterions on the Colloidal and Antimicrobial Properties of Triple-Headed Cationic Amphiphiles
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Meagan Riley (English)
    American Gothic Families: Identity and Kinship in the American Gothic Tradition

2015 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Jacob Bosley (Political Science)
    Lexicons of Colonialism: A Grounded Theory Examination of Indian and Supreme Court Definitions of Sovereignty
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Rosemary Girard (Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication)
    The Professional Writer’s Many Personae: Creative Nonfiction, Popular Writing, Speechwriting, and Personal Narrative

2014 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Matthew Dent (Chemistry)
    Understanding metal-organic framework assembly in hydrotris (1,2,4-triazolyl) borate materials
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Andrea Morgan (Art History)
    After Rembrandt: Captain William Baillie and Print Culture in Eighteenth-Century London

2013 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Jessica Holland (Biology)
    The Interaction of the Lethal Fungal Pathogen Batrachochytrium Dendrobatidis (Bd) and Combinations of Anti-Bd Bacterial Species
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Caitlyn Chalfant and Molly Picard (both Intelligence Analysis)
    Weapons of Mass Destruction and America: Assessing the Risk of a Possible Future Scenario and Its Implications

2012 Award Winners
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Matthew Wallace (Biology)
    Topographic and Patterned Axonal Projections in Control and Mutant Ephrin-B2 Mice Prior to the Onset of Hearing
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Sam Lasky (International Affairs)
    Causes of US Humanitarian Intervention in the Post-Cold War Era

Back to Top