Apply to become an Engaged Teacher-Scholar (ETS)
with the Center for Faculty Innovation

The Engaged Teacher-Scholar (ETS) program offers faculty support in creating and sharing evidence-based teaching and learning scholarship. The goal of the ETS Program is to recognize JMU faculty who engage in meaningful evidence-based teaching and learning scholarship.  The program aims to support faculty growth in a process of becoming ETS leaders across JMU’s campus. Engaged Teacher-Scholars view teaching and learning from a scholarly point of view.  

Whether their work is called Discipline-based Education Research, Teaching Inquiry, or Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, these scholars are educators who engage in evidence-based teaching and learning scholarly activities. Faculty chosen to participate as ETS leaders will receive professional development funds for the year to support their professional goals.

APPLICATION PROCESS: The program runs from August (fall semester) through May (spring semester) annually. Beginning March 1, refer to the CFI events feed to view the current ETS event page and learn about the application process.

Benefits to being an Engaged Teacher Scholar include:
  • Being recognized for evidence-based teaching and learning scholarship
  • Serving as a liaison between CFI and department/college on ETS initiatives
  • Supporting JMU colleagues (within her/his department or college) with ETS efforts
  • Being a part of JMU’s Community of Engaged Teacher Scholars
  • Receiving a $1000 in professional development funds to support personal ETS efforts (i.e. disseminate ETS work, attend ETS Professional Development opportunities, travel to ETS conferences, workshops, etc.)
During the academic year, Engaged Teacher Scholars will...
  • Work with CFI to develop a plan for and offer ETS events each semester to their Unit-College and University-wide(examples include journal clubs, workshops, roundtables, methodology review, etc.)
  • Make progress on their evidence-based teaching and learning scholarship project(s)
  • Participate in a community of Engaged Teacher-Scholars
  • Attend CFI-organized or other professional development opportunities
Engaged Teacher Scholar Program Outcomes
  • Advancing individual SoTL projects
  • Catalyzing unit-level teacher-scholar conversations
  • Generating university-wide dialogue on high-impact practices
  • Enhancing scholarly productivity
  • Integrating knowledge of student development models in teaching philosophies and practicePracticing the integration of scholarship with teaching and other career aspirations
  • Practicing the integration of scholarship and teaching
Publications & Accomplishments of ETS Scholars related to their program research
ETS Leaders 2023-2024
  • Sombo Muzata, Political Science, College of Arts and Letters
  • Ben Riden, Educational Foundations and Exceptionalities, College of Education
  • Eva Strawbridge, Mathematics and Statistics, College of Science and Mathematics
  • Bisi Velayudhan, Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
  • Hui Zhao, Nursing, College of Health and Behavioral Studies
Engaged Teacher-Scholar Program Liaisons

Current Liason

  • Tim Ball, Communication Studies, College of Arts and Letters

Former Liaisons

  • Dayna Henry, Health Sciences, College of Health and Behavioral Studies (2018-2021)
  • Ray Rodriguez, Education Programs, College of Education
  • Anthony Tongen, Math & Statistics,
  • Ashley Taylor Jaffee, Middle, Secondary & Mathematics Education
Previous Engaged Teacher Scholars
  • Ahmad Salman, Integrated Science and Technology
  • Alexis Stevens, Math & Statistics
  • Amanda Sawyer, Middle, Secondary & Mathematics Education
  • Amy Connolly, Computer Information Systems & Business Analytics
  • Ana Abad-Jorge, Health Professions, College of Health and Behavioral Studies
  • Budimka Uskokovic Tenney, Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • Carl Larsson, Finance and Business Law 
  • Cassie Williams, Math & Statistics
  • Cindy Hunter, Social Work
  • Cindy Klevickis, Integrated Science and Technology
  • Claire Lyons, Psychology
  • Daniel Castaneda, Engineering
  • Danielle DeRise, Writing, Rhetoric, & Technical Communication
  • David Shonk, Hart School of Hospitality, Sport & Recreation Management
  • Diana Galarreta, Foreign Language
  • Elise Barrella, Engineering
  • Emily York, Integrated Science and Technology
  • Erika Metzler Sawin, Nursing
  • Gilpatrick Hornsby, Hart School of Hospitality, Sport & Recreation Management
  • Heather Griscom, Biology
  • Joe LeBlanc, Graduate Psychology
  • John Guo, Computer Information Systems & Business Analytics
  • Joseph Harsh, Biology
  • Katie Dredger, Middle, Secondary & Mathematics Education
  • Katya Koubek, Education Programs
  • Kim Slekar, Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
  • Krisztina Jakobsen, Psychology
  • Mark Lewis, Literacy Education
  • Mollie Godfrey, English
  • Robyn Kondrad, Psychology, College of Health and Behavioral Studies
  • Samy El-Tawab, Integrated Science and Technology
  • Shana Meganck, Communication Studies
  • Shannon Conley, Integrated Science and Technology
  • Shraddha Joshi, Engineering, College of Integrated Science and Engineering
  • Tiara Saufley Brown, Education Programs
  • Tiffany Hornsby, Graduate Psychology
  • Zareen Rahman, Middle, Secondary, and Math Education, College of Education

Back to Top