The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Outreach and Engagement is given to honor instructional and administrative faculty members who have made a sustained commitment to working with the community in developing mutually beneficial and reciprocal partnerships. This award recognizes the scope and impact of the partnership and its impact on both the university and the community.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching has acknowledged James Madison University’s community engagement efforts to receive its community engagement reclassification for 2020. This honor recognizes “the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities ... for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.” JMU joins 358 other institutions across the country in the selection process. 

Nominations for this award will be accepted from instructional and administrative faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community members. Nominations should address the following criteria:

  • To what extent does the nominee show a sustained commitment to developing mutually beneficial and reciprocal community partnerships?
  • How were university and community needs/goals identified? Outcomes met? Provide evidence of sustained impact on the university and the community partners.
  • To what extent does the partnership engage the community, deepen students’ engaged learning, and enrich the scholarship of the institution?

Nominations and any supporting materials can be submitted to Carol Fleming (, or MSC 6906).  Nominations must be received by January 15, 2021.

Past Recipients


Dr. Dara Hall
Executive Director of Teacher Education & Student


Dr. Jennifer PeeksMease
Associate Professor, School of Communication Studies


Dr. Jennifer Almjeld
Associate Professor, Writing Rhetoric and Technical Communication


Dr. Steve Cesawn
Associate Professor, Biology


Dr. Kerry Cresawn
Director, Center for STEM Education and Outreach


Dr. Emily Akerson
Associate Director of Clinical and Interprofessional Programs, IIHHS


Dr. Seán McCarthy
Assistant Professor, Writing Rhetoric and Technical Communication


Dr. Kim Hartzler-Weakley
Director, Office of Children & Youth


Dr. Merle Mast
Professor, Nursing


Dr. Nicholas Swartz
Political Science


Dominic Swayne
Coordinator, External Relations


Dr. Gary R. Kirk
Public Administration

Back to Top