Organization Name:
American Friends Service Committee (AFSC)

Organization Type:

Mission Statement:
The American Friends Service Committee is a practical expression of the faith of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers). Committed to the principles of nonviolence and justice, it seeks in its work and witness to draw on the transforming power of love, human and divine. We recognize that the leadings of the Spirit and the principles of truth found through Friends' experience and practice are not the exclusive possession of any group. Thus, the AFSC draws into its work people of many faiths and backgrounds who share the values that animate its life and who bring to it a rich variety of experiences and spiritual insights. This AFSC community works to transform conditions and relationships both in the world and in ourselves which threaten to overwhelm what is precious in human beings. We nurture the faith that conflicts can be resolved nonviolently, that enmity can be transformed into friendship, strife into cooperation, poverty into well-being, and injustice into dignity and participation. We believe that ultimately goodness can prevail over evil, and oppression in all its many forms can give way.

Contact Information

Full Mailing Address:
1501 Cherry Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102


Phone Number:
(215) 241-7000

Fax Number:
(215) 241-7275

Email Address:


    Activity Detail(s)

  • Survivor and Victim Assistance
  • Mine Risk Education
  • Humanitarian Coordination

    Country(ies) of Operation

  • Cambodia
  • Pakistan
  • Zambia
  • Albania
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Guatemala
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Lebanon
  • Mozambique
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe
  • Angola
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Afghanistan
  • El Salvador
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Somalia
  • Yugoslavia
  • Korea, People's Republic of (South)
  • Kosovo, FYR
  • Laos
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • China
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Cuba
  • Haiti
  • Jordan
  • Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North)
  • Macedonia, FYR
  • Mexico
  • Occupied Palestinian Territory
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Turkey
  • Venezuela
  • Syria

Back to Top