Cover Photo Image
Who Are the Leaders?

Each area reporting to the Provost has established a leadership position to identify and articulate goals and priorities specific to their college or program, in consultation with their dean. These leaders will work closely with diversity councils, the Vice Provost of Strategic Initiatives and Global Affairs, deans, and academic unit heads.

Meet the Leaders

BJ Bryson - Associate Dean, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Sarah Cheverton - DEI Leader and State Authorization and Compliance Officer for Online and Distance Learning, University Studies

Oris Griffin - Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Professor, College of Education

Demetria Henderson - Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, College of Business; Visiting Assistant Professor, Business Management

Karina Kline-GabelAssistant Dean for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, College of Arts and Letters; Lecturer, Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures (Spanish)

LouAnn Lovin - co-DEI Director and Interim Associate Dean, College of Science & Mathematics

Fawn-Amber Montoya - Associate Dean of Diversity, Inclusion and External Engagement, Honors College; Professor, History Department

Carole Nash - Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, College of Integrated Science and Engineering; Professor, School of Integrated Sciences

Leslie Purtlebaugh - Diversity Equity and Inclusion Director, Student Academic Success and Enrollment Management; Assistant Vice Provost, Academic Student Services

Yasmeen Shorish - Special Advisor to the Dean on Equity Initiatives and Associate Professor, JMU Libraries

Courtney HopeStudent Success Coordinator and Inclusive Excellence Director, College of Science and Math


Back to Top