Cover Photo Image

CSM faculty excel in many areas of their work as educators and scholars. Their outstanding abilities are on display every day in their classrooms and labs, and their accomplishments are celebrated through local, national, and international recognition.

Educational Leave

CSM faculty may apply for educational leave in order to pursue professional development in scholarship or teaching related to their discipline. Educational leaves should be designed to provide an enriching experence that augments or expands a faculty member's expertise in an area of interest. 

Faculty Awards: JMU Recognition

Madison Scholar – Award winners exemplify excellence and scholarly achievement in their respective disciplines. CSM faculty nominate one of their colleagues for the Madison Scholar award each year. The recipient is invited to deliver the annual Madison Lecture in the fall.

Distinguished Teacher Award - The Distinguished Teacher Award was established in honor of former JMU faculty member Carl Harter to celebrate exemplary teaching across our diverse learning environments.  CSM faculty nominate one of their colleagues for the Distinguished Teacher Award each year.  The recipient is invited to deliver the faculty address to graduates at the CSM Commencement ceremony in the spring.

Distinguished Service Award - The Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize a faculty member who provides exceptional professional-related service at the university, local and national levels. CSM faculty nominate one of their colleagues for the Distinguished Service Award each year based on superlative contributions in service to JMU, to the Shenandoah region, or their national/international scientific communities.

The Provost's Awards for Excellence- The Provost Award for Excellence is presented each year to faculty and staff who have made extraordinary contributions to the University in a variety of areas. These include, but are not limited to, curriculum development, advising, external programs and research, community service, assessment of student learning, international experiences, ethical and moral development, and citizenship. 

  • For more information about the Provost's Award, visit this link.
Faculty Awards: State Recognition

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) Outstanding Faculty Award- James Madison University cultivates stellar talent through a variety of initiatives, including the Outstanding Faculty Awards (OFA) for the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Outstanding Faculty Awards are the Commonwealth's highest honor for faculty at Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. These awards recognize superior accomplishments in teaching, research, and public service.

Back to Top