Kate

 

Career Advisor & Liaison to College of Visual & Performing Arts, College of Education
Year Started at JMU: 2015
bergeyka@jmu.edu
Contact Info
Pronouns:
She/Her/Hers

I help students navigate the complexities and opportunities of their career path. Within my liaison role, I build connections with stakeholders within the arts and education industries in order to provide tailored programs and services for students. I enjoy helping others grow and develop and get a chance to do that through supervising our two wonderful Career Advising GAs. What gets me up in the morning is thinking about ways to make career services more accessible, equitable, and inclusive.

My Career Journey

One of the common themes throughout my career is a desire to help others grow and develop. I have a lot of professional interests – student development, social justice and inclusion, career exploration, experiential learning, international education, and program management. I have found higher education to be a meaningful place to pull together these different threads!

Some of the highlights of my experience as an undergraduate student at Eastern Mennonite University were studying Peacebuilding and Development, participating in a semester cross-cultural in the Middle East, interning in Washington D.C., and serving as a student leader on campus. Through a variety of work experiences after graduation, talking to professionals in careers that peaked my interest, and reflection, I found out that people actually make careers out of working in student affairs! I completed my graduate studies here at JMU in the College Student Personnel Administration Program. During graduate school I worked in the Center for Multicultural Student Services, Center for Global Engagement, and our University Career Center. I’ve really enjoyed working as a Career Advisor in UCC the last couple of years because no two days are the same and I can be a small part of helping students reach their goals.

More About Me

3 words that describe me:

  • Caring
  • Intentional
  • Curious

Some fun facts about me:

  • Anything I do with my family – including our two young children and dog – is the best!
  • I love being outside as much as possible running, hiking, biking, and traveling.
  • When I have a moment to myself I enjoy reading and gardening.
  • I grew up in Minnesota, so my happy place is being by the water, especially by lakes.

Back to Top