Carl Harter Distinguished Teaching Award

The College of Arts and Letters annually names a Carl Harter Distinguished Teacher in recognition of an exemplary commitment to teaching.


2021 Dennis Blanton (Anthropology); 2020 Dan Schill (SCOM); 2019 Sean McCarthy (WRTC); 2018 Toni Whitfield (SCOM); 2017 Andrew Witmer (History); 2016 Steven Hoeltzel (Philosophy); 2015 Mark Piper (Philosophy); 2014 Corey Hickerson (SCOM); 2013 Frances Flannery (Religion); 2012 Eric Fife (SCOM)

Distinguished Service Award

The College of Arts and Letters annually names a recipient of the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of superlative achievement in the area of service. 


2021 Mark Piper (Philosophy); 2020 Jessica Adolino (Political Science); 2019 Leigh Nelson (SCOM); 2018 Chris Blake (Political Science); 2017 David Jones (Political Science), Raymond Hyser (History); 2016 Michael Galgano (History); 2015 Carlos Aleman (SCOM); 2014 Bethany Bryson (Sociology); 2013 Beth Eck (Sociology); 2012 William O’Meara (Philosophy and Religion)

Edna T. Shaeffer Humanist Award

The Edna T. Shaeffer Humanist Award is awarded annually from the Evelyn Pugh endowment for scholarly research projects on topics in the humanities.


2021 Annette Federico (English), Dolores Flamiano (SMAD), Philip Herrington (History), Heidi Pennington (English); 2020 Beth Eck (Sociology), Evan Friss (History), Mollie Godfrey (English); 2019 Debali Mookerjea-Leonard (English), Besi Muhonja (English), Emily Westkaemper (History); 2018 Maureen Shanahan (Art History), Andrew Witmer (History), Holly Yanacek (Foreign Lanugages, Literatures, and Cultures); 2017 Allison Fagan (English), Mollie Godfrey (English), Matthew Rebhorn (English), William Van Norman (History); 2016 Mark Facknitz (English), Annette Federico (English), John Ott (Art); 2015 Paul Bogard (English), Laura Katzman (Art), Debali Mookerjea-Leonard (English); 2014 Evan Friss (History), Mark Rankin (English), Andrea Veltman (Philosophy); 2013 Allison Fagan (English), Alexander Leidholdt (SMAD), Sian White (English); 2012 Dabney Bankert (English), John Ott (Art), Matthew Rebhorn (English)

Educational Leaves

Educational leaves provide faculty members with the opportunity to devote a semester fully to scholarship. Faculty are relieved of teaching and service responsibilities and are expected to engage in activities that enhance their research, scholarship or creative work.


2020-21 John Scherpereel (Political Science), Gianluca DeFazio (Justice Studies), Edward Yang (Political Science), Lori Beth De Hertogh (WRTC), Holly Yanacek (Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures); 2019-20 Jennifer Almjeld (WRTC), Kevin Reynolds (SMAD), Séan McCarthy (WRTC), Heather Scheuerman (Justice Studies); 2018-19 Cathryn Molloy (WRTC), John Hulsey (Political Science); 2017-18 Alex Parrish (WRTC), Jennifer Byrne (Political Science); 2016-2017 Kimiko Tanaka (Sociology), Besi Muhonja (English), Peggy Plass (Justice Studies), Howard Lubert (Political Science)

Legacy Awards

Supported by the College of Arts and Letters Alumni Board, these awards support research and creative endeavors for professors who open doors and transform student lives with their teaching and mentoring.


2019-20 Andrea Veltman (Philosophy), Francesca Tripodi (Sociology), Rebecca Brannon (History), Katey Castellano (English); 2018-19 Alan Kirk (Religion), Michael Seth (History), Dennis Lo (English), Amy Paugh (Anthropology); 2017-18 Yongguang Hu (History), Marianne Mason (Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures), Sarah Newman (Anthropology), Sofia Samatar (English); 2016-17 Evan Friss (History), Jennifer Lang-Rigal (Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures), Paul Bogard (English), Mark Piper (Philosophy); 2015-16 Alan Levinovitz (Religion), Alison Fagan (English)

Madison Scholar

The Madison Scholar is recognized for a record of outstanding scholarship/research/creative work and its dissemination through publication, exhibition, performance or other means. The award winners exemplify excellence and scholarly achievement in their respective disciplines. Winners present a lecture on their area of expertise during the academic year. 


2021 Mark Rankin (English); 2020 Richard Lawler (Anthropology); 2019 Dennis Blanton (Anthropology); 2018 Debali Mookerjea-Leonard (English); 2017 Susan Opt (SCOM); 2016 Joshua Linder (Anthropology); 2015 Kerry Dobransky (Sociology); 2014 Bernd Kaussler (Political Science); 2013 Alexander Leidholdt (SMAD); 2012 Jonathan Keller (Political Science)

Staff Recognition Award

The Staff Recognition Award is an annual acknowledgment of exemplary service to the university by a staff member of the college. The award is presented at the Spring Staff Workshop.


2021 Angela Carter (English); 2020 Peggy Smith (History); 2019 Sandra Purington (WRTC)

Summer Grants

Summer grants support research, scholarship and creative activities that lead to presentation, publication, exhibition or performance. Grants provide support for faculty salaries, travel expenses and other scholarship-related costs.


2021 Evan Friss (History), Elisabeth Kvernen (SMAD), Andrea Martinez Gonzalez (SCOM), Marianne Mason (Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures), Debali Mookerjea-Leonard (English) 2020 Colleen Moore (History), Case Watkins (Justice Studies), Allison Fagan (English), Kristin Wylie (Political Science), Iccha Basnyat (SCOM), Joseph Spear (Sociology); 2019 Lori Beth De Hertogh (WRTC), Rahel Fischbach (Religion), Katey Castellano (English), Brooks Hefner (English), Philip Herrington (History), Vanessa Rouillon (WRTC); 2018 Tim Ball (SCOM)Rebecca Brannon (History), Jennifer Byrne (Political Science) Michael Gubser (History), Debali Mookerjea-Leonard (English), Emily Westkaemper (History)

Back to Top