Madison Awards for Academic Excellence are merit-based awards which recognize a broad spectrum of accomplishment and potential. Academic colleges and departments are responsible for selecting individuals who posses scholastic achievement within a particular area of study and demonstrate promise to the university.

Approximately 350 scholarships are awarded annually.

Award amounts vary from $4,000 to $10,000 annually, depending on department. For specifics, contact the department of your interest directly.

Application Process

No additional application is required for the Madison Awards for Academic Excellence. Students will be reviewed using their application for admission to JMU. In addition, students who apply for a Dingledine Scholarship but are not selected will remain in the pool to be considered for a Madison Award for Academic Excellence.

All scholarship recipients will be notified in mid-April. The scholarship selection committee will not notify applicants who do not receive a scholarship.

Maintaining Eligibility

Students must achieve a 3.0 cumulative JMU grade point average by the end of each academic year to qualify for renewal. Some scholarships have additional requirements which will be clearly stated in the award letter.

No additional application is necessary. 
Students will be reviewed using their JMU admission application.

Back to Top