James Madison University cultivates stellar talent through a variety of initiatives, including the Outstanding Faculty Awards (OFA) for the Commonwealth of Virginia. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) administers these awards and describes them as follows:

The Outstanding Faculty Awards are the Commonwealth's highest honor for faculty at Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. These awards recognize superior accomplishments in teaching, research and public service.


Outstanding Faculty Nominees for 2019

Kenn Barron, Professor 

Department of Psychology (Profile)236508-Kenn-Barron-OPA-Portrait-1012.jpg




Robert Nagel, Associate Professor

 Department of Engineering (Profile)236434-Robert-Nagel-OFA-Portrait-1006.jpg


Klebert Feitosa, Associate Professor 

Department of Physics (Profile)feitosa-klebert.jpg


Ashley Taylor Jaffee, Associate Professor

 Department of Middle, Secondary & Mathematics Education (Profile)AshleyTaylorJaffee_Headshot_JMU_2018.jpeg


Melissa Alemán, Professor 

Department of Communication Studies (Profile)236267-Melissa-Aleman-Faculty-Expert-Portrait-1002.jpg



Kerry Crawford, Associate Professor

 Department of Political Science, Rising Star (Profile)236387-Kerry-Crawford-OFA-Portrait-1005.jpg


Maureen Shanahan, Professor

 Department of Art History (Profile)236404-Maureen-Shanahan-OFA-Portrait-1006.jpg




Past winners, finalists and nominees

Back to Top