Cover Photo Image

Within SGA, the Executive Council, Executive Staff, and Committee Chairs make up the Leadership Team. Members appointed to other leadership positions make up our SGA Staff.

2023-2024 Executive Leadership Team
Nathan Hazen, Student Body President

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Nate Hazen is from Mclean, Virginia. He is a Business Management Major, Coaching Education Minor, and will be graduating in the Spring of 2024. He also serves as a Younglife College leader at JMU. He likes to spend avid amounts of time on campus and can commonly be found at Dhall or UREC.

Faith Forman, Student Body Vice President

Pronouns: She/They

Faith is a Media Arts and Design major with a concentration in Creative Advertising from Lancaster, PA. They are currently apart of Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, Student Government Association, and Dukes4Dogs. 

Matthew Haynicz, Executive Treasurer

Pronouns: He/Him

Matthew Haynicz

Matt is a Geographic Science major with a concentration in Applied Geographic Information Systems and a minor in Mathematics from Manassas, VA.

Carlin Bumgarner, Speaker of the Student Senate

Pronouns: She/Her

Carlin is a senior Political Science major. She is from Roanoke, Virginia. 

Leadership Team
Brielle Lacroix, Chief of Staff

Pronouns: She/Her

Brielle is a junior public policy and administration major & non-profit studies minor from Allentown New Jersey. Aside from her involvement in student government, she is also a member of student ambassadors, the CSL 2022 ABP team, and will be serving as an orientation peer advisor this summer. She currently works at Rose Library, and is a JMU Dining influencer. In her free time, Brielle enjoys spending time with her friends and her cat, George. You can keep up with Brielle and all of her work at JMU by following her on instagram @briellesaysgodukes 

Elena Finelli, Parliamentarian

Pronouns: She/Her

Elena is a senior geography major with a concentration in geospatial analysis of enviormental issues and conflicts. She has two minors in enviromental studies and Italian. From Rockland County NY, Elena is excited to ensure everything runs smoothly in senate and elections. 

Zach Fleming, Academic Affairs Chair

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Zach is a History Major, Secondary Education, ISS, and Honors Minors. He is from Norfolk, VA. Zach is devoted to academics and he is so excited to expand academics and connect with the faculty members around campus.

Alex Schleyer, Communications Director

Pronouns: She/Her

Alex is a Communications Major with an Advocacy Concentration and Dance Minor. She is from Northern Virginia where she served as as Vice President of Briar Woods High School. Alex has previously served on the Communication Committee and was awarded Representative of the Month last year.

Abby Johnson, Community Engagement Chair

Pronouns: She/Her

Abby is a senior Political Science Major from Richmond, Virginia. In her free time, Abby enjoys spending time with friends and reading. 

Takiyah Monrose-Richardson, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Justice, and Accessibility Chair

Pronouns: She/Her

Takiyah is a junior Elementary Education major from Hampton, VA. When she's not on campus, she likes to bake and hang out with her roommates cats. 

Marcus Rand, Legislative Affairs Chair

Pronouns: He/Him

Marcus is a Senior engineering major from Richmond, Virginia. Outside of SGA, he serves as a Team Leader for SafeRides and as historian for Beta Theta Pi. 


James Love Jr., Membership Chair

Pronouns: He/Him

James Love Jr is a physics major with minors in math and Astronomy from Richmond, Va. Some of the other organizations he is in include the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Incorporated, Creative Passions Coalition, Black Student Alliance, the National Society for Black Engineers, etc. Some of the things James enjoys doing in his free time is listening to music, reading, watching anime, and going to the gym. 

Marlena Kozlowski, University Services Chair

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Marlena is a Psychology major with a Pre PA minor from Northern Virginia. In her free time you can find her studying in Rose Library or at Target with a full shopping cart. 

Appointed Staff
Elections Commissioner
Riley Gilbert
Finance Liaison
Carson Tighe
Mason Hoey
Representative to Faculty Senate
Ai Vy Le
Valeria Lopez-Postigo
Student Representative to City Council
Kieran Fensterwald

Back to Top