Each year the Department presents a number of scholarships, some of which are listed below, to some of the many outstanding biology majors.  Click on each scholarship name for more information.  The Department also presents a number of awards to current students each spring.  There are also a number of College-wide and University-wide scholarships and awards.  Students also receive awards and scholarships from outside sources.

Chappelear Scholarships

Description:   These scholarships of approximately $1000 per year are based on grade point average, a statement of interest and career plans, and a letter of recomendation. Students must also show evidence of financial need and must submit a signed FAFSA form to the Department of Education (http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/) by the time of application. The awards are renewable.

Application (.doc)
(due June 1, 2018) 

Federal Student Assistance

History :  Established by Nancy Chappelear Baird '40, and her husband, Alvin V. Baird Jr., in memory of Nancy's father, George Warren Chappelear Jr. in May 1981. Nancy graduated from Madison College with a B.S. in Mathematics.  She worked in the applied physics laboratory at Johns Hopkins, the geophysical laboratory at the Carnegie Institution, for the Norfolk Naval Shipyard in the office of the naval architect and served on the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics.  Alvin Baird attended the University of Virginia and served in the Army during World War II.  The Bairds were involved with the university for years, most recently the Alvin V. Baird, Jr. Attention and Learning Disabilities Center.  Nancy died in November 2002. George Chappelear was born in 1889 in Delaplane, Virginia.  He started college at the University of Richmond, but finished at Virginia Tech.  In 1918 Dr. Julian Burrus, president of the Harrisonburg Normal School, asked him to come be in charge of buildings and grounds and head the biology department.  He remained until his death from a heart attack in October 1944.  Chappelear Hall is named for him.

2013-2014 Recipients: Faizan Ahmad, Cassandra Baier, Allie Casto, Sarah Hermak, Shvan Kareem, Emily McGlone, Nicholas Minahan, Adaoma Okafor, Mahmud Rashid, Russie Tran

2014-2015 Recipients: Sepideh Asgari, Allie Casto, Matthew Fanghella, Heather Gagne, Claire Gormley, Jason Lee, Nicholas Minahan, Melanie Mowery, Austin Norman, Russie Tran

2015-2016 Recipients: Casto, Allie (fall semester); Gagne, Heather; Hofman, Morgan; Hossain, Sheikh Rubana; Keiter, Michael; Lamb-Echegaray, Isabel; Nordseth, Anna; Pallister, Rachel; Rahmani-Mofrad, Melika; Verdi, Giavanna; Walsh, Emily; Zeller, Erika

2016-2017 Recipients: Paige Akers, Ashley Ballengee, Morgan Rhea Hofmann, Isabel Lamb-Echegaray, Melika Rahmani Mofrad, Rachel Pallister, Augustus Snyder, T'Marah Spruill, Giavanna Verdi

2017-2018 Recipients: Madison Ferst, MorganRhea Hofmann, Brooke Justis, Sophiah Kawachi, Isabel Lamb-Echegaray, Sophie McGinnies, Melika Rahmani, Augustus Snyder, Aviana Terschueren, Rooket Tesfaye

Jean D. Acton Scholarships 

Description:   These scholarships are for undergraduate and graduate students in biology conducting research in Microbiology or Immunology. To apply please fill out an application form (see above) by February 15.

Application (.docx) 
(due Feb 15)

Federal Student Assistance  

CriteriaRecipients shall be undergraduate biology majors studying in the particular area of microbiology or immunology and having a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25, or alternatively, recipients shall be graduate students in biology interested in the study of immunology and having a graduate record examination score in the seventieth percentile. Students must show evidence of financial need and must submit a signed FAFSA form to the Department of Education by February 15.

History:  Established via a bequest from Dr. Jean Acton, a former faculty member in the Department of Biology. 

2012-2013 Recipients: Marcus Skaflen, Kristie Prtorich
2013-2014 Recipients: Anna Marie Pacheco Young, Dennis Churchin, Nicholas Minahan
2014-2015 Recipients: Nicholas Minahan, Sepideh Asgari
2015-2016 Recipients: Jesmine Roberts-Torres, Sepideh Asgari, Shahzeb Khan
2016-2017 Recipients: Bryan Scalf, Charles Holmes, and Shahzeb Khan

2017-18 Recipients: Shelby Saroka and Charles Holmes


Back to Top