Cover Photo Image

Please email with any questions about the Second Century Scholarship Program.

Application is closed for 2019-20


Second Century Scholarhip receipients are elso eligible to apply for a summer project award. Learn more here.

James Madison University is the place to be for students who want to better tomorrow’s world by focusing on crucial issues facing our society. The university’s commitment to addressing national and world needs related to science and technology is represented by our Second Century Scholars program. This program provides financial support to exemplary students entering fields in the domain of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).

Incoming freshmen enrolling in one of the designated STEM programs may qualify to be recognized as Second Century Scholars and receive scholarship support. The Second Century scholarship is awarded for a maximum of four years of undergraduate work, provided recipients continue in any one of the designated STEM majors and maintain a high level of academic performance and commitment to their studies. The amount of the scholarship is set at 75 percent of in-state tuition and fees for the year recipients enter the university and continues at this amount for a maximum of four consecutive years.

The Second Century Scholars program is evidence of James Madison University’s recognition of the importance of STEM to the country and of the University’s very strong programs in STEM fields. This program represents a serious commitment to students who, in turn, are serious about excelling in STEM areas and making a difference in the world.

Eligible students are encouraged to apply prior to notice of their acceptance to James Madison University.

Scholarship Criteria

Applicants must meet the following criteria to be eligible for the Second Century Scholars program:

  • GPA of 3.75 or higher (performance in science, technology and mathematics courses will receive additional consideration)
  • Demonstrated interest and commitment to study in a STEM area
  • Declaration of a major in a designated STEM area (Eligible majors are:Biology, Biophysical Chemistry, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Geographic Science, Geology, Intelligence Analysis, Integrated Science and Technology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics)

Back to Top