Working Group Purpose Statement:

To advise the president and administration of James Madison University regarding issues of racial equity, receive and provide feedback on information related to current and planned initiatives, focused on outreach to PreK-12 schools, students, and educators to ensure the development of pathways to JMU are equitable and inclusive.



Chris Carlberg

Assistant Director of Admissions

Joanne Gabbin

Joanne Gabbin

Executive Director of the Furious Flower Poetry Center, Professor of English


Dr. Amanda A. Randall

Co-Director of  the Virginia Department of Education’s Training and Technical Assistant Center at JMU


Diane L. Strawbridge

Executive Director, Student Access & Inclusion

Working Group Members:

William Carlton Banks - Community Member

Ruthie Bosch - Associate Professor, College of Education

Brianna Bugg - Student

Oris Griffin - Professor, Learning, Technology & Leadership Education, College of Education

Kelsey Holtz - Student

Kimberley Hundley - Alumna

Sheary D. Johnson - Alumna

Terra Jones - Student

Danny M. Little - Alumnus

Joi Merritt - Associate Professor, Early, Elementary & Reading Education, College of Education

Diana Meza - Instructor, Learning, Technology & Leadership, College of Education

Sheena Ramirez - Director of Recruitment, College of Visual & Performing Arts

Deanna Reed - Mayor of Harrisonburg

Kyel Towler - Student

Tiffany V. Woolley – Admissions

Back to Top