Task Force on Racial Equity logo

The membership of the task force includes representation from various constituencies including the student body, faculty, staff, alumni, and community.  The task force is intentionally large in order to have maximum opportunity for diversity in thought. There are over 180 members of the task force. 

Task force members have been asked to serve for an initial appointment of two years, although it is understood that some individuals may need to opt out sooner (e.g., if a student is graduating).

Learn more about the task force leaders and their commitment to racial equity in their bios.

Task Force Co-Chairs and Advisors
Cynthia Bauerle

Cynthia Bauerle

Interim Vice Provost for Faculty and Curriculum

Arthur Dean

Arthur Dean

Executive Director for Access and Inclusion

Deborah Johnson

Deborah Tompkins Johnson

Alumnus, ‘78, Board of Visitors, Vice Rector


Brent Lewis

Associate Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


Dr. Tia Brown McNair

Vice President in the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Student Success, Association of American Colleges and Universities


Rudy M. Molina, Jr.

Vice Provost, Student Academic Success & Enrollment Management

Jennifer PeeksMease

Dr. Jennifer PeeksMease

Associate Professor of Communication Studies

Leadership Council Members
Gilbert Bland

Gilbert Bland

Alumnus, President & CEO - Urban League of Hampton Roads


Carrie Combs

Director, Alumni Relations; Executive Director, JMU Alumni Association


Mike Davis

Executive Advisor to the President


Chuck Flick

Director, Office of Human Resources

Joanne Gabbin

Joanne Gabbin

Executive Director of the Furious Flower Poetry Center, Professor of English

Norman Jones

Norman Jones, III

Student Representative to the Board of Visitors

Karina Kline-Gabel

Karina Kline-Gabel

Lecturer, FLLC & CAL Faculty Diversity Liaison


Rick Larson

AVP of HR, Training and Performance


Hakseon Lee

Professor of Political Science


Daerenz Lyons

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Engagement Fellow


Charles Theron May

Ole School Group Alumni Representative, President and CEO of C&M, LLC, Inc.


Towana H. Moore

Associate Vice President for Business Services


Besi Muhonja

Professor, Director, African, African American, and Diaspora Studies


David Owusu-Ansah

Associate Provost for Diversity & Professor of History


Allahjah Smith

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Engagement Fellow

Working Group Members

Back to Top