Send news about appointments, awards, exhibitions, honors, performances, presentations, publications and service to Eric Gorton ( or through our online form. News about grants is provided by the Office of Sponsored Programs.


Dr. Laura R. Katzman (Professor, Art, Design and Art History) has been appointed the Terra Foundation Visiting Professor of American Art at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies at the Free University in Berlin for the 2018-19 academic year. As scholar-in-residence at this prestigious institute, she will conduct public lectures in her fields of expertise, advise graduate students in American Studies, and organize a major international conference around her research on 20th century documentary photography in Puerto Rico and other U.S. territories.

Grants (awarded in April 2018)

Dr. Kevin L. Caran (Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry) and Dr. Christine A. Hughey (Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry) received $340,000 from the National Science Foundation for a regional summer research program integrating deaf and hearing participants in chemistry research.

Dr. Jennifer E. Coffman (Associate Executive Director, Center for Global Engagement; Associate Professor, Integrated Science and Technology) received $34,000 from the Institute of International Education, Inc. for Project Go to teach Kiswahili to JMU's East Africa Field School and to learn about the peoples, cultures and environments of contemporary Tanzania through direct interaction.

Dr. Keigo Fukumura (Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy) and Dr. Sean T. Scully (Professor, Physics and Astronomy) received $46,392 from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration to explore the observed UV/X-ray absorbers of diverse populations of active galaxies in the context of magnetically-driven accretion-disk wind model around supermassive black holes by UV/X-ray spectroscopic analyses.

Dr. M. Hossain Heydari (Professor, Computer Science) received $9,840 from the New College Institute to offer a cyber defense competition for high school students.

Dr. M. Hossain Heydari (Professor, Computer Science), Dr. Brett C. Tjaden (Professor, Computer Science) and Dr. Xunhau Wang (Professor, Computer Science) received $84,643 from the National Security Agency for a cyber defense boot camp for high-school technology teachers.

Joyce H. Krech (Director, Small Business Development Center) received $3,000 from the city of Buena Vista to support the Small Business Development Center.

Dr. Jonathan J. Miles (Professor, Integrated Science and Technology) received $16,310 from the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to complete an environmental impact report for a clean energy development and services design proposal for Haynesville Correctional Facility; Hanover Juvenile Justice Facility; and Department of Forestry Headquarters Building.

Dr. Trevor F. Stokes (Professor, Graduate Psychology) was awarded $64,000 by the Shenandoah Valley Regional Program to provide internships to graduate psychology students in the area of applied behavior analysis within local school districts.


Dr. David J. Shonk (Associate Professor, Sport and Recreation Management) published a book titled, "Sport Mega-Events in Emerging Economies: The South American Games of Santiago 2014," with co-authors Gonzalo A. Bravo, associate professor in the sport management program at West Virginia University; Jorge Silva-Bórquez, sport director at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile; and Silvana González-Mesina, a freelance journalist specializing in sport and corporate communications. Published by Palgrave Macmillan.

Madison Scholar logo that links to the Madison Scholar website.

Back to Top