Dr. W. Cullen Sherwood joined the geology faculty of Madison College in 1971. Dr. Sherwood was always highly respected by his students and his peers for his instruction at any level, from General and Physical Geology to Geochemistry, Soils and Engineering Geology. This endowment was recently established in honor of Dr. Sherwood by Geology Alumni.  It is an annual award made to an undergraduate student with a commitment to pursuing a geology-focused career.

Past Awardees

2024: Kate Leonard

2023: Chloe Harper

2022: David Hoppe

2021: Jennifer Weiss

2020: Jonathan Jacobson

2019: Jonah Neri

2018: Noah Fleischer

2017: Sarah Anderson and Joshua Benton

2016: Airlie Lyle and Michael Stone

2015: Haley Spencer

2014: Brandon Euker, Rose McGroarty, and Max Showalter

2013: Kathryn McConahy

2012: Victoria Stempniewicz

Give to the Cullen Sherwood Scholarship

Back to Top