Each year, Engineering awards a variety of scholarships. These scholarships are made available to selected students through the generous support of faculty, alumni, and friends.

Students are encouraged to apply for these scholarships through the Madison Scholarships Hub.

David and Tamela Chipman Scholarship

The David K. (’83) and Tamela H. (’83) Chipman Scholarship Endowment for Engineering and Computer Science provides financial resources annually to one or more students who are in their junior or senior year of undergraduate studies. To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must (a) have a declared major in Engineering or Computer Science; (b) have a grade point average of 3.25 or higher (on a 4.0 scale); and (c) have demonstrated financial need as determined by the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships.

The Chipman Scholarship will be awarded to a student in Engineering in the odd years (i.e. Fall 2023) and a student in Computer Science in the even years (i.e. Fall 2024).  The minimum award for a single student will be $1,000. 

Peter G. Jackson Scholarship

This Peter G. Jackson Scholarship is intended to honor and support outstanding undergraduate student scholars enrolled in the general engineering program at James Madison University. 

The following additional criteria shall guide the selection of Jackson Family Scholars, if the student is being considered to receive the Peter G. Jackson Memorial Scholarship the student must demonstrate:

  • A need for financial assistance, as determined by the University’s Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships.
  • A commitment to the discipline of engineering for their professional careers, as evidenced by, among other things, their enrollment in the university’s Engineering program.
  • dedication to academic excellence, as evidenced by, among other things, a minimum grade point average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) at the time of application for either scholarship; and, such a grade point average shall be maintained for as long as the student holds either scholarship.
  • An engagement in community service, as evidenced by involvement in community service-related activities and organizations in the local communities of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County or elsewhere.
  • A capacity for leadership, as evidenced by, among other things, examples of leadership talent, skills, and experiences.

Beyond the specific criteria for scholarship recipients described above, the appointment of a student as a Jackson Family Scholar shall follow the University’s guidelines for the awarding of scholarships.

Jones Scholarship

Stanley (’54) and Rosemary Jones created the Jones Scholarship to open doors for promising and deserving students in STEM. The Jones scholarship supports an academic scholarship for one incoming freshman in the fall semester.

Recipients must be in-state students, have a declared major in: Computer Science, Engineering, ISAT, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Geoscience, or Biology, be a first-generation college student, and have applied to or been admitted to the Honors College. Recipients must remain in the major and maintain good academic standing. The scholarship is renewable for up to 3 years as long as these criteria are met.

No application is required. The Second Century Scholarship application process is used to determine eligibility for the Jones award. Learn more about Stanley and Rosemary Jones.

Madison Engineering Renaissance Scholarship

In 2016, the Lewis P. and Linda M. Nagel established The Madison Engineering Renaissance Scholarship Endowment in the Department of Engineering.

A Renaissance Scholar demonstrates innate curiosity, embraces ambiguity, strives for excellence, acts professionally, is altruistic in actions, and has interests that transcend disciplines.

To qualify as a Renaissance Scholar, the student recipient must be in good academic standing and majoring in Engineering, and embody the qualities outlined above.

The selection of a Renaissance Scholar will be made in a manner determined by the Head of the Department of Engineering in consultation with the faculty of the Department of Engineering and the Dean of the College of Integrated Science and Engineering.

Neall Family Scholarship

An endowment established by the Neall Family Charitable Foundation Trust for scholarships to be administered by the JMU Department of Engineering under the following guidelines:

  • The funds are to be used for engineering undergraduates who are former enlisted personnel or their children (not officers or their children).
  • Scholarships may continue for the same student beyond freshman year for only those students who maintain at least a 3.0 GPA on a scale of 4.0.
  • The new version of the GI bill should be used by needy students before funds from the Neall Foundation are utilized.
Second Century Scholarship

The JMU Second Century Scholarship (SCS) provides financial support to exemplary students entering Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields. SCS covers 100% of in-state tuition and fees and continues for a maximum of four consecutive years, pending continued exemplary academic performance. 

Criteria: GPA of 3.75 or higher (performance in science, technology and mathematics courses will receive additional consideration), demonstrated interest and commitment to study in a STEM area, declaring a major in the College of Integrated Science & Engineering or College of Science & Mathematics

Submit the SCS application through the Madison Scholarship Hub. Eligible students are encouraged to apply before the Early Admission deadline.

Back to Top