alyssa2 image


Career Advisor & Liaison to JMU Alumni Association, The Graduate School
Year Started at JMU: 2011
Contact Info
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

I help students prepare for life after college through various services such as career exploration, resume review, interview prep, etc. I can work with students no matter where they are at in their career journey.

My Career Journey

Going into undergrad, the only thing I was sure about was that I wanted to attend JMU, so my "major" starting out was Undecided. After taking some required GenEds and a Career and Academic Planning class (UNST 102), I decided to transfer out to a community college near home to try and get a better idea of what I wanted to do. After earning my Associate's degree in Social Sciences, I came back to JMU and declared a Psychology major. I was able to take two field placement classes: one with Healthy Families and one with The Center for Marriage and Family Counseling. Both helped me gain a better understanding of what I wanted to do and gave me some content to add to my resume. Once I graduated with my B.A. in Psych, I went on to get my M.A. in Human Services Counseling with a Life Coaching cognate. During that time, I started practicing as a counselor in Charlottesville, VA which I did for a few years before I decided it was not what I wanted to do long term and moved into the coaching realm, finding a love for career coaching. I took a job in Martinsville, VA at a community college working with the adult workforce population as a Career Coach. A few years passed and I began looking for a similar position closer to family and friends as I really enjoyed what I was doing, but was so far away from everyone. I came across an open position at my JMU alma mater, applied, and accepted my current position in the UCC as a Career Advisor and Liaison and I absolutely love it! Now I get the opportunity to help others make plans for life after college.

More About Me

3 words that describe me:

  • Passionate,
  • Sincere/Genuine,
  • Resourceful

Some fun facts about me:

  • Nature is my favorite place to be – hiking, camping, gardening, kayaking/canoeing, having picnics, etc., even just sitting outside. I want to see as many of the major national parks as I can in my lifetime.
  • Travel is a fascination in my life. I've been many places abroad (currently 12 countries and counting), and plan to visit many many more.
  • I live in a log cabin.
  • I have 1 baby. Her name is Rosie. Her favorite thing to do is bask in the sun. She is the cutest and sweetest. She is a rescue. She is a hound. Yes, she is a dog!
  • I participated in an alternative break trip when I was a student here at JMU with the Community Engagement & Volunteer Center (formerly Community Service Learning). We went to Ecuador where we worked closely with students at a local school. If you're thinking about joining an alternative break trip, do it!
  • My husband and I have been working on renovating an old Shasta Airflyte into a mobile coffee bar.

Back to Top