In each college, professors nominate their colleagues for the Madison Scholar award. The award winners exemplify excellence and scholarly achievement in their respective disciplines. Each winner presents a lecture on his/her area of expertise during the academic year. Faculty who have served in their colleges at the rank of assistant professor or above for at least five years are eligible for this award.

2019 Madison Scholars

Dennis Blanton

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Department of Sociology and Anthropology, College of Arts and Letters

Presenting “La Conquista: An Archaeologist’s Quest to Understand It” on  in Madison Union (Taylor Hall), Room 306.

Laura Leduc

Associate Professor of Management
Department of Management, College of Business

Presenting on  in Sonner Hall, Room 2005.

Ashley Taylor Jaffe

Associate Professor of Middle, Secondary & Mathematics Education
Department of Education Programs, College of Education 

Krisztina Jakobsen

Associate Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Stephen Marrin

Associate Professor of Intelligence Analysis
Department of Integrated Sciences, College of Integrated Science and Technology

Anca Constantin

Associate Professor of Physics
Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Science and Mathematics

Presenting on  in the Bioscience Building.

David Stringham

Associate Professor of Music
School of Music, College of Visual and Performing Arts

To see the previous year's award winners, visit the Academic Affairs website.

Back to Top