JMU view to the west

The leadership at James Madison University is committed to continually striving for a deep and full understanding of our community, as well as to continually striving for improvement. The 2017 Task Force for Inclusion’s top recommendation was for JMU to conduct an external climate study, and the university is now ready to take this vital and fundamental step.

This is a chance to make a difference in JMU’s future by helping to create a more inclusive campus. To ensure full transparency and to provide a more complete perspective, the university has contracted with Rankin & Associates Consulting to help coordinate this effort.

Their team, listed below, will be working with a committee of our faculty, staff, and students to develop and implement the assessment. The results will enable us to develop programs and policies that will increase inclusivity in areas which are shown to be problematic as well as enhance and replicate programs and policies in areas which are shown to be successfully meeting the needs of the community.


Aderonke Adesanya, Executive Committee Member

Heather Coltman, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Tim Miller, Vice President for Student Affairs



John Almarode, College of Education

Robin Bryan, Information Technology

BJ Bryson, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Taimi Castle, College of Arts and Letters

Theresa Clarke, College of Business

Lisa Coffman, Business Services

Mike Davis, Advisor to the President

Boris Escalona, Center for Global Engagement

Valarie Ghant, Center for Multicultural Student Services

Kyle Gipson, College of Integrated Science and Engineering

Jason Gochenour, Admissions

Emily Higham, Residence Life

Pauline Hoyte, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Veronica Jones, University Health Center

Karina Kline-Gabel, College of Arts and Letters

Brent Lewis, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Janice Lewis, Counseling Center

Paul Mabrey, Faculty Senate

Chris Orem, Office of Institutional Research

Rocky Parker, College of Science and Mathematics

Ashley Parsons, Student Athlete Services

Doe Polanz, AAUP

Taryn Roberts, Center for Global Engagement

Kathy Sarver, Planned Giving

Yasmeen Shorish, Libraries

Antoine Sinclair, Public Safety

Jonathan Stewart, Associate Director of Finance, IT, and Assessment

Josh Streeter, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Shea Tussing, Human Resources

Mary-Hope Vass, University Marketing and Branding

Mary Walala, Academic Affairs

Jess Weed, Student Activities and Involvement

Lauren Wholihan, Admissions 

Student Members:

Maya Canaday, Health Sciences major

Daniela Coronado, Social Work major

Kayla Edwards, Health Sciences major

Viriya Lim, Health Sciences major


Back to Top