Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship was created to "provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields." For more information contact JMU Faculty Representative, Melinda Adams(Open to rising juniors and seniors)

Computer Science Department Scholarships

The Computer Science Department awards various scholarships to rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors majoring in computer science. Students are notified each year when applications are due via the department list serv. For more information, rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors should contact Philip Riley(Open to all Computer Science students)

Department of Defense Cyber Scholarship

The Department of Defense (DoD) Cyber Scholarship Program (CySP) is authorized by Chapter 112 of title 10, United States Code, Section 2200. The purpose of the program is to support the recruitment of new cyber talent and the retention of current highly skilled professionals within the DoD cyber workforce.  Additionally, this program enhances the national pipeline for developing cyber personnel by providing grants to institutions of higher education.

JMU is one of the original National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Education (Cyber Defense). This designation makes our students who meet the eligibility requirements eligible to apply for this scholarship. This program provides scholarships that fully fund the typical costs that students pay for books, tuition, and a $27,000 a year stipend ($32,000 for graduates) for living expenses while attending an approved institution of higher learning.

Computer Science students (rising juniors/seniors and graduate students) with at least a 3.2 GPA are encouraged to apply. We especially encourage females and minorities to apply. For more details about eligibility and service requirements, please visit the Department of Defense Cyber Scholarship on the CS Wiki. For additional information, contact Professor Hossain Heydari.


Federal Scholarship for Service

Federal Scholarship for Service (SFS) is a unique program designed to increase and strengthen the cadre of federal information assurance professionals that protect the government's critical information infrastructure. This program provides scholarships that fully fund the typical costs that students pay for books, tuition, and room and board while attending an approved institution of higher learning. Additionally, participants receive stipends for living expenses. The scholarships are funded through grants awarded by the National Science Foundation.

Computer Science students (rising juniors) in good standing are encouraged to apply. For more details about eligibility and service requirements please visit the Undergraduate SFS Announcement. Interested students must submit the Scholarship Agreement Form (PDF) (Open to rising juniors)

Jones Scholarship

Stanley (’54) and Rosemary Jones created the Jones Scholarship to open doors for promising and deserving students in STEM. The Jones scholarship supports an academic scholarship for one incoming freshman in the fall semester.

Recipients must be in-state students, have a declared major in: Computer Science, Engineering, ISAT, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Geoscience, or Biology, be a first-generation college student, and have applied to or been admitted to the Honors College. Recipients must remain in the major and maintain good academic standing. The scholarship is renewable for up to 3 years as long as these criteria are met.

No application is required. The Second Century Scholarship application process is used to determine eligibility for the Jones award. Learn more about Stanley and Rosemary Jones.

Malcolm G. Lane Scholarship

The Malcolm G. Lane Scholarship provides financial resources annually to one or more students in their junior or senior year.  To be eligible for this scholarship, recipients must have a declared major in Computer Science and a GPA of 3.25 or higher after at least two semesters of study at JMU.  Malcolm Lane is a former Computer Science Department Head and a distinguished computer scientist with a range of experience in academe and industry. (Open to rising juniors and seniors)

Microsoft Scholarships

The Microsoft Scholarship Program awards tuition and conference scholarships each year to encourage students to further their learnings in Computer Science and related STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) disciplines. Recipients for the scholarship will be awarded in recognition of their demonstrated passion for technology, academic excellence, and leadership while working to push the software industry forward.  If you have any questions, contact

Second Century Scholarship

The JMU Second Century Scholarship (SCS) provides financial support to exemplary students entering Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields. SCS covers 100% of in-state tuition and fees and continues for a maximum of four consecutive years, pending continued exemplary academic performance. 

Criteria: GPA of 3.75 or higher (performance in science, technology and mathematics courses will receive additional consideration), demonstrated interest and commitment to study in a STEM area, declaring a major in the College of Integrated Science & Engineering or College of Science & Mathematics

Submit the SCS application through the Madison Scholarship Hub. Eligible students are encouraged to apply before the Early Admission deadline.

Walter Quintin “Teddy” Kincaid (‘22) Scholarship in Computer Science

To be named a Kincaid Scholar, the recipient must be a full-time undergraduate student majoring in Computer Science, with financial need as determined by the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships, whose primary residence is in Virginia. The scholarship is renewable as long as the student continues to meet the criteria, subject to the availability of funds. Scholarships will be administered at the discretion of the Department Head of Computer Science following the University's guidelines for the awarding of scholarships.

The department will send a call for applications in the Spring of each year. Open to CS majors who have at least 54 credit hours. 

Back to Top