The James Madison University Board of Visitors met Friday, June 7, 2002, in the Board Room of JMU's College Center.  Following is a summary of actions taken by the board and key areas of discussion at the board meeting:

  • Approved a $231.4 million operating budget for the university for 2002-2003.  The budget represents a 4.2 percent increase over the 2001-2002 operating budget of $222 million.  The largest portion of the budget, $123.6 million, goes into the university's academic programs and academic support programs.  Another $85.3 million will go for auxiliary enterprises, which are the non-academic functions on campus such as dining facilities, residence halls, student activities, athletics, recreation, etc.  The remainder of the budget will go to student aid, sponsored research programs and special equipment funds.
  • Elected Paul J. Chiapparone of Plano, Texas as rector (chairman) of the board for 2002-2003.  Chiapparone is executive vice president of Electronic Data Systems Corp.  He has been on the board since 1995, was rector from 1996 to 1998 and has been vice rector for the past two years.  Joseph C. Farrell of Richmond was elected vice rector of the board.  Farrell, a board member since 1997, is retired chairman, president and chief executive officer of the Pittston Co. 
  • Honored three outgoing members of the board and the outgoing board secretary, who were all taking part in their last board meeting.  All three board members have served two four-year terms and are ineligible for re-appointment. 
  • Zane Showker of Weyers Cave, a board member since 1994, vice rector from 1998 to 2000 and rector for the last two years.   Showker is chairman emeritus of HFP-Sysco in Harrisonburg.  Showker Hall at JMU is named in his honor.
  • Henry R. Harrell of Richmond, a board member since 1994.  He was rector of the board from 1998 to 2000 and vice rector from 1996 to 1998.  He is president and chief executive officer of Universal Leaf Tobacco Co. and Universal Corp. 
  • Dr. Conrad A. Helsley, a board member since 1994.  Dr. Helsley, a 1972 graduate of JMU, lives in Strasburg and practices dentistry in Woodstock.  He has served as chair of the board's education and student life committee. 
  • Dr. Barbara P. Castello, secretary of the board since 1992.  Dr. Castello is vice president for university relations and external programs at JMU and has announced her upcoming retirement. 
  • Approved the establishment of two new academic programs at JMU:  a master of physician assistant studies and a master of public health.  The proposals now go to the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia for final approval.
  • Heard a report from Dr. Robert L. McKown, professor of integrated science and technology, on JMU's programs in biotechnology.
  • Was told that JMU has again met all of the financial management standards established by the Commonwealth of Virginia.  JMU has met the standards annually since they were established 15 years ago and is one of only two state colleges to have met the standards each of those years.
  • President Rose introduced several members of the JMU Community who have received recent recognitions: 
  • Dr. Laura Lewis, associate professor of sociology and anthropology, who received a Guggenheim Fellowship.
  • Dr. Alice Philbin, director and professor in the Institute of Technical and Science Communication, who received the Jay R. Gould Award for Distinguished Teaching.
  • Dr. Reginald Foucar-Szocki, program director and Marriott Professor of Hospitality and Tourism Management, who is serving as president and chair of the board of the Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education.
  • Dr. Benjamin DeGraff, professor of chemistry, recently honored by the American Chemical Society.
  • Katie Kerwin, a JMU health science senior, who received first place in the 2002 Hill-Rom Management Essay Competition.

Back to Top