The University Writing Center Advisory Board is a group of faculty and staff, reporting from a variety of academic units, who are deeply invested in the writing development of JMU students. The Board helps the UWC understand the writing expectations of different disciplines, engages in cross-disciplinary discussion of student writing and writing instruction, acts as a liaison between the UWC and members' home departments, and contribute to the disciplinary expertise of the center. The Board works to establish and maintain a dialogue about writing so that JMU can better understand and connect with JMU student writers. The end goal is to improve both student writing and faculty pedagogy at JMU.

Scott Arbogast, Athletics
Sharon Babcock, Biology
Stephanie Baller, Health Science 
Kenn Barron, Psychology
Mary Beth Cancienne, Middle and Secondary Education
Kathy Clarke, JMU Libraries
Gianluca De Fazio, Justice Studies
Evan Friss, History
Steve Marrin, Intelligence Analysis
Fernando Pargas, Management 
Valerie Schoolcraft, Office of Disability Services
Kristen Kelley, Multilingual Student Services
Julie Strunk, Nursing
Sri Siddhi N. Upadhyay, Psychology
Hao Zhang, Integrated Sciences

Back to Top