Join us Tuesday April 30th, 2024 at 6 PM in the Hall of Presidents at D-Hall to congratulate and celebrate the achievements of our LGBTQ+ graduates at Lavender Graduation! This is an opportunity to thank these students for their contributions to the LGBTQ+ community and the JMU community as a whole. In addition to celebrating our graduates, SOGIE announces our annual award winners.

We have the following awards that you can submit nominations for:

Given in recognition of outstanding dedication and support of James Madison University's queer community. This award is presented to someone based on their efforts to support the campus community.

The Christopher L. Gatesman Service Award
Presented to an individual in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the LGBTQ+ community at JMU and beyond. The Christopher L. Gatesman Award is usually presented to someone that has demonstrated efforts in supporting our local Harrisonburg and surrounding communities.

There is also a volunteer award that is chosen by the SOGIE staff, The Michael Boyles Award.
Michael Boyles was a former outstanding volunteer who changed the program for the better. Although Michael is no longer with us, his spirit can be felt throughout the program and this award goes to a volunteer who has exhibited much of the same spirit. These volunteers work tirelessly to make sure every person who enters the program feels welcome and that they always find a space.

In addition, SOGIE invites graduating students to apply to be a student speaker at the event.

Back to Top