Cover Photo Image


VRAS will be at the VAG annual conference! Save the date - the Virginia Assessment Group’s Annual Conference will return to the Delta Marriott Hotel in Richmond, VA on November 16-18, 2022.

The 2022 May Symposium was a full day of presentations, networking, and sharing ideas with accreditation colleagues. Visit the 2021-22 Events page for the program and presenter slides.

The 2021-22 VRAS Planning Board is welcoming new members! Please contact Co-Chair Cindy Chiarello or Matthew Smith if you are interested in joining this great team of colleagues across Virginia! 

VRAS Listserv

To join the VRAS email listserv, visit here and subscribe or email Cindy Chiarello.


VRAS, an active, purposeful network of higher education colleagues in Virginia, advances open discussion and dissemination of knowledge to support institutions’ achieving and sustaining SACSCOC accreditation.


VRAS serves the higher education community in Virginia by facilitating inter-institutional relationships and providing accurate information and reliable interpretation of SACSCOC policy.


The purposes of the VRAS are to:

  1. Build relationships among faculty and staff responsible for compliance with SACSCOC policies and principles.
  2. Provide resources for faculty and staff that deal with the intersection of state recognition and regional accreditation.
  3. Serve as a forum for discussion about salient accreditation-related issues and how they affect Virginia institutions.
  4. Share accreditation-related knowledge and experiences among Virginia institutions that may serve as an example or guidance to colleagues.
  5. Welcome, engage, and mentor new members from within our own and other accredited institutions within the Commonwealth to share knowledge and ensure the future growth of the VRAS.

Past Symposia and Events

The 2022-23 VRAS Planning Board

Linda Birtley (Union Presbyterian Seminary), Susan Bosworth (William & Mary), Cindy Chiarello (James Madison University), Rachel Gable (Virginia Commonwealth University), Rick Hess (Marymount University), Jason Lyons (Christopher Newport University), Ryan Murnane (Regent University), Tisha Paredes, Denise Ridley-Johnston (William & Mary), Matthew J. Smith (George Mason University), Rachel Smith, Kathy Walker (Randolph Macon College)

Contact - Cindy Chiarello

Back to Top