Cover Photo Image


The proximity of JMU to major East Coast cities has fostered a regular and varied schedule of visiting artists, scholars and designers on campus each semester. Invited art professionals represent a diverse range of viewpoints and practices that enrich the regular calendar of coursework and provide undergraduate and graduate students with a better understanding of what possible pathways exist for future successful careers in the visual arts.


DOROTHY LISKEY WAMPLER Distinguished Professorship Of Art Series 

LECTURE TITLE: Learning in the Making: Studying and Designing Makerspaces
SPEAKER: Dr. Kim Sheridan

WHEN: Wed, March 29th, 5PM
WHERE: Duke Hall Gallery

Poster for Wampler Sheridan Lecture


The Arts Entrepreneurship and Professional Development Series facilitates a broad, ongoing discussion about entering creative professions and building individualized career paths for School of Art, Design and Art History students. The events reach both students who are already considering self-employment or small business development and those who have not yet examined future applications of their creative skills. The School of Art, Design and Art History wants to introduce these topics to students early in their undergraduate careers so that they may take full advantage of mentorship opportunities and the resources of the university community, especially the Center for Entrepreneurship. 

Events provide an open invitation to topics that students may not otherwise independently explore during their undergraduate careers including: career development resources, branding, and business planning. Moreover, this program promotes interdisciplinary connections between the School of Art, Design and Art History, the Center for Entrepreneurship, and other resources serving our students’ professional and personal goals.

Kevin Phaup, Faculty Coordinator
Robert Mertens, Faculty Coordinator
Greg Stewart, Faculty Coordinator
Stephanie Williams, Faculty Coordinator


Encore Exhibition Series

The Encore Series is an annual program sponsored by the College of Visual & Performing Arts that seeks to enrich the cultural and intellectual life of the greater university community. The School of Art, Design and Art History participates through the exhibition and public lectures of major figures in contemporary art.

Past participants in the Encore Series have included: Robert ArnesonSeymour ChwastChuck CloseMaria Magdalena Campos-PonsLesley DillMilton GlaserRed GroomsPhil MeggsElizabeth Murray, Philip PearlsteinFaith Ringgold, Leslie Saar, Raymond SaundersPeter SaulMiriam SchapiroSandy SkoglundAlan ShieldsJerry Uelsmann, and William T. Wiley, among others.


Each academic year the endowed Dorothy Liskey Wampler Distinguished Art Professorship brings to campus a varied program of distinguished visiting artists, scholars, and critics.

Past Wampler Professors have traveled to JMU from around the world, and have included: Perry BardDr. Terry BarrettCarol BartonXu BingDr. Suzanne BlierPamela BlotnerDr. B. Stephen Carpenter IIBarbara CooperArthur DantoDr. Leah DickermanBob EbendorfJohn FosterSuzi GablikDr. W. Dwaine Greer, Dr. Fredrika Jacobs, Ivan Karp, Donald Kuspit, Rainer Goetz, Stefan Graupner, Eve LarameeAnthony LeeSusan LeopoldLucy LippardDr. Amy LyfordPeter PlagensEarl A. Powell IIIJ. Morgan PuettRosamond PurcellLawrence RinderDr. Renee SandellDr. Kirk Savage, Salvatore Scalora, Sam Shelton, Roy SieberPaul VanouseBill ViolaRichard WilsonJames WinesAmy Yoes, among others.

Back to Top