Feature Image


The James Madison University SACSCOC Advisory Council assists and supports the president and his senior leadership team by helping to ensure that the university:

  • stays current with SACSCOC issues and requirements.
  • recommends appropriate policies.
  • communicates clearly regarding SACSCOC-related issues andrequirements.
  • receives feedback on SACSCOC-related issues from faculty, administrators, and staff.


In part because of the work of the SACSCOC Advisory Council, JMU will stay current on SACSCOC-related issues. As a result, official reporting periods such as interim reports and reaffirmations, will be well-understood and streamlined.


The SACSCOC Advisory Council values:

  • Communication (Including Listening) - because it is the currency of an effective learning community.
  • Engagement/Teamwork - because they help build and maintain strong relationships for enhancing communication and understanding.
  • Interpersonal Effectiveness - because building and maintaining interpersonal relationships will be a critical element for the success of the team and its communication.
  • Knowledge - because it is the foundation for understanding SACSCOC-related issues and their impacts.
  • Optimism - because it engenders trust in the accreditation process.

Member Expectations

  • Attend meetings.
  • Stay informed.
  • Engage in SACSCOC-related discussions with colleagues and constituents.
  • Act in the best interests of the university's mission.
  • Support the mission, vision, and values of the SACSCOC Advisory Council.
  • Think and act both as a representative of a particular area and as a university leader overall.


Herb Amato – Associate Vice Provost for Academic Development, SACSCOC Liaison
Robin Anderson – Academic Unit Head for Graduate Psychology
Mark Angel – Assistant Vice President for Finance
Cindy Chiarello – University Planning and Engagement Coordinator, SACSCOC Liaison Office 
Keston Fulcher  – Executive Director for the Center for Assessment and Research Studies
Tina Grace – Assistant Director for Institutional Research
Donna Harper – Vice President for Access and Enrollment
Glenn Hastedt – Academic Unit Head for Justice Studies
Nick Langridge – Vice President for University Advancement
Sharon Lovell – Dean for College of Health and Behavioral Studies
Sarah MacDonald – Assistant Dean for Outreach and Engagement
Jim McConnel – Associate Vice President for Student Life
Towana Moore – Associate Vice President for Business Services
R. Ann Myers – Faculty Credentialing Coordinator
Aaron Noland – Director for Assessment and Planning for Libraries & Educational Technologies
Cynthia O’Donoghue – Academic Unit Head for Communication Sciences and Disorders
Chris Orem – Director for Institutional Research
Kristi Shackelford – Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Policy & Curriculum Development
Amy Thelk – Director for Assesment and Evaluation for Educational Programs

Council Members SharePoint

Back to Top