Search JMU Web | Find JMU People | Site Index   

Steering Committee

Untitled Document

Purpose: Appointed early in 2005. First meeting, spring of 2005. Receives recommendations on activities from Brainstorming Committees. Advises the President and the Board of Visitors on the entire Centennial celebration, from its earliest stages of development to the conclusion of the observance in 2008. Assigns specific elements of Centennial to the Action Committees and oversees their work. Steering committee biographies can be read at this link.

• Dr. Joanne Carr, Chair, Senior Vice President for University Advancement.

• Fred Hilton, Centennial Director.

• Dr. Jerry Benson, Dean, College of Integrated Science and Technology.

• Dr. Linda Cabe Halpern, Dean of General Education.

• Tracy Harter, Special Collections Librarian.

• Donna Harper, Assistant to the President and Alumna.

• Dr. Alex Gabbin, KPMG LLP Professor of Accounting.

• Dr. Jessica Adolino, Associate Professor of Political Science.

• Dr. Ron Kander, Head, Department of Integrated Science and Technology.

• Robert Sullivan, retired City Planner, local historian.

• Dr. Keo Cavalcanti, Head, Department of Sociology and Anthropology.

• Dr. Faye Reubush, retired JMU dean.

• Alexander B. “Sandy” Berry III, Co-Chair, Centennial Commission, former Rector of Board of Visitors.

• Dr. Virginia Andreoli Mathie, Co-Chair, Centennial Commission, retired Psychology Professor and Department Head.

• Marshall and Gloria Price, parents of 2008 graduate, Parents Council members, Alumni.

• Dr. J. Patrick and Glenda Rooney, JMU Director of Bands/Professor of Music and Assistant to the Provost.

• Dr. Michael Galgano, Head, Department of History.

• Judy Strickler, Board of Visitors and Alumna.

• Meredith Strohm Gunter, Board of Visitors.

• Dr. Teresa Gonzalez, AVP-Academic Affairs.

• Towana Moore, AVP-Administration and Finance

• Steve Smith, AVP-Constituent Relations and Alumnus.

• Dr. Al Menard, AVP-Student Services.

• Dr. Kent Zimmerman, Associate Professor of College of Business.

• President of Alumni Association (Elaine Hinsdale).

• Co-chairs, Parents Council (Dave and Phyllis Pruett).

• President of Student Government Association (Brandon Eickel).

• President of Greater Madison (Charlotte McNulty).

• President of Class of 2008 (Lindsay Dowd).

• President of Black Student Alumni Chapter (Vanessa Evans).

• Speaker of Faculty Senate (Dr. Joan Frederick).

• Immediate Past Speaker of Faculty Senate (Dr. Kent Zimmerman).

• Co-Chairs, Employee Advisory Council (Susan Linn and Jason McClain).

• City Manager of Harrisonburg (Roger Baker).

• Rockingham County Administrator (Joe Paxton).