Each year we feature a keynote speaker for the Department’s annual Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium. We are honored to have had speakers who are alumni of the department and are willing to come back and share with our students their experiences of “life after JMU”. We thank each of these speakers and look forward to future alumni participation in the Department of Chemistry Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium.


JMU Class

Speaker and Affiliation

2023 1994

Kevin Bennett, PhD
Hood College

2022 1994

Timothy W. Graul, PhD
Pfizer, Inc.

2021 2005

Christian Zeigler, PhD
Vertex Pharmaceuticals

2019 1995

Lisa M. Christianson, MD, MPH
University of Virginia School of Medicine

2018 2002

William Gemmill, Ph.D.
Eminess Technologies, Inc.

2017 2004

Zeric Hulvey, Ph.D.
United States Department of Energy

2016 2007

Reid Gadziala, Pharm.D., BCNP, MBA
Cleveland Clinic

2015 1994

Michael Leopold, Ph.D.
University of Richmond

2014 1996

Dana McGraw Dattelbaum, Ph.D.
Los Alamos National Laboratory

2013 1999

Christy Vestal Martin, Ph.D.
Vorbeck Materials
Jessup, MD




Melissa C. Rhoten, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry & Physics
Longwood University

Orde Q. Munro, Ph.D.
Professor and Fulbright Scholar
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

2011 1992

Morgan S. Sibbald, Ph.D.
Sherwin-Williams Company

2010 1988

Kevin Morris, Ph.D.
Klingenmeyer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Carthage College

2009 1988

Chris E. Holmes, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
The University of Vermont College of Medicine

2008 1995

Jonathan Dattlebaum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
University of Richmond

2007 1987

Elizabeth Perry, M.D.
Signature Healthcare, Inc.
Charlotte, NC

2006 1967

Carolyn Abitbol, M.D.
Professor of Pediatric
Medical Director Pediatric Dialysis
University of Miami (FL) School of Medicine




Daniel Downey, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
James Madison University

Gary Rice, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
College of William and Mary

2004 1987

James (Dusty) Baber, Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health

2003 1984

Fred King, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Letters
West Virginia University

2002 1977

Roger Bertholf, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Florida School of Medicine

2001 1979

 Mrs. Katheryn Lam
 Senior Consultant, e-business Solutions
 International Business Machines

1999 1987

Jose Madalengoitia, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor of Chemistry
 University of Vermont

1997 1987

 Fred R. Kinder, Ph.D.
Oncology Research Program
Novartis Research Institute

1996 1986

Terry O. Trask, Ph.D.
Director, Lycra Research and Development
DuPont Chemicals

1995 1973

Carl Lentz, Ph.D.
Eastman Fine Chemicals

1994 1990

Michele A. Kelly, Ph.D.
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Maryland Baltimore County

1993 1985

Cynthia K. Fallon, Ph.D.
Research Chemist
DuPont Chemicals

1992 1983

Laurie Locascio, Ph.D.
National Institute of Standards and Technology

1991 1983

Noreen Naiman, Ph.D.
North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

1990 1982

Matthew T. Stershic, Ph.D.
Senior Chemist
Atomchem North Amercia

1989 1982

Michael Kinter, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute

1988 N/A

Thomas J. Meyer, Ph.D.
Associate Director of Strategic Research
Los Alamos National Laboratory

1987 1980

Steven Davis, Ph.D.
Naval Research Laboratory

1986 1980

Steven A. Hackney, Ph.D.
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Michigan Technological University

1983 N/A

Richard B. Lam, Ph.D.

1982 1975

Daniel Downey, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
James Madison University

1981 1959

Mr. Ronald E. Ney
Office of Waste and Waste Management
Environmental Protection Agency

1980 N/A

Stanley G. Sunderwirth, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Science and Mathematics
Metropolitan State College (Denver, CO)

1979 1973

Carl Lentz, Ph.D.
Eastman Fine Chemicals

Back to Top