The Whitman Scholarship

This scholarship was established in memory of M. Louise Whitman by the Virginia Business and Professional Women’s Foundation. The award recognizes exceptional students who intend to carry their study of gender equity into the professional fields.


  • Have submitted a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) with the financial aid office by the application deadline
  • Be officially enrolled with the Registrar’s Office as a minor in the Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program
  • Be a rising Junior or Senior at James Madison University
  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Be a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Have a minimum 3.2 GPA

Amount of Award

The most recent award of the M. Louise Whitman scholarship was $7,100. The annual award may be divided into as many as three separate awards at the discretion of the Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Advisory Board.

To Apply

Contact minor coordinator Dr. Mary Thompson(540) 568-3758, for application information.

Notification of Applicants

Scholarship recipients will receive notification of their selection by the end of April. All applicants will receive a response from the selection committee.

Who was Margaret Louise Whitman?

Louise WhitmanMargaret Louise Whitman (1929 - 1996)

Ms. Whitman, a Purcellville, Va., native, received dual Bachelor degrees in English and Secondary Education (’51), and a Master’s degree in Sociology (’60) from JMU.

In addition to teaching history and psychology at Herndon High School for 27 years and chairing the Social Studies Department, Ms. Whitman joined Loudoun Business and Professional Women’s Club (BPW) in 1957 and was a dedicated and active member of the Loudoun, Virginia and National Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs. She served Loudoun BPW in various positions including President in 1965-1966.  She served on the district level in several positions and as District VII Director. For the state Federation she served as Corresponding Secretary, World Affairs Chairman, Civic Participation Chairman, Nettie Tucker Yowell Scholarship Chairman, Delegate-at-Large to national convention, Parliamentarian, Second Vice President, First Vice President, President-Elect, President 1975-1976 and Executive Director for five years, traveling weekly to Charlottesville, where the state office was located.  Ms. Whitman served the National BPW in several appointed positions including Foundation Committee Chairman, member of the Scholarship Committee, and Chair of registration and credentials for national convention.

Back to Top