Approved Minutes for this Meeting (MS Word Format)

Summary of Actions/Discussions

The James Madison University Board of Visitors met Friday, April 13, 2012, in the Board Room of Madison’s Festival Conference and Student Center. 

Following is a summary of actions taken by the board and key areas of discussion at the board meeting: 

  • Approved the January 6, 2012 BOV meeting minutes;
  • Received the President’s report presented by Dr. Linwood Rose;
  • Approved committee reports from Athletics, Audit, Development, Education & Student Life, and Finance & Physical Development;
  • Received and approved the Level II Resolution for decentralized authority from the Finance and Physical Development Committee presented by Mr. Charles King, Senior Vice President, Administration and Finance;
  • Received a presentation about the Madison Investment Club from Ed Andrews, Sarah Dolson,  JP Kril and Dr. Elias Semann, Assistant Professor, Finance;
  • Received an update on the General Assembly from Mr. Charles King, Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance;
  • Approved the Board Manual Revision presented by Mrs. Donna Harper, Executive Assistant to the President;
  • Approved the weapons regulation;
  • Approved the purchase of 940 and 944 Port Republic Road;
  • Approved a resolution naming the East Campus Library the Rose Library in honor of Dr. & Mrs. Rose. 

Was told by President Linwood H. Rose:

 -      that Jonathan Friedman, a JMU alumnus, produced an award winning ad shown during the 2012 Super Bowl;

-       that Wayland Hall has received LEED Platinum certification;

-       that the American Association for the Advancement of Science named a JMU professor Dr. Judith Dilts, a Fellow;

-       that JMU professor, Dr. Anne Stewart, received the SCHEV 2012 Outstanding Faculty award;

-       that a JMU senior. Miriam Daoud, was named Virginia Nursing Student of the year;

-       that four local colleges, including JMU, united for the Walk of Hope;

-       that JMU’s Samantha Smith was selected the CAA Swimming Coach of the Year;

-       that JMU’s Rebecca Benson was selected the CAA diving coach of the year;

-       that the women’s basketball team played in the WNIT championship.

Back to Top