Ms. Vanessa M. Evans-Grevious (Rector), Charlottesville, VA 

Mr. Michael B. Battle, Clarksville, MD

The Honorable William T. Bolling, Mechanicsville, VA

Mr. Warren K. Coleman, (Vice Rector), Richmond, VA

Mr. Jeffrey E. Grass, Arlington, VA

Mr. Matthew A. Gray-Keeling, Richmond, VA

Ms. Maribeth D. Herod, Herndon, VA

Ms. Lucy Hutchinson, New York, NY

Ms. Maria D. Jankowski, Richmond, VA

Ms. Deborah T. Johnson, Woodbridge, VA

Ms. Lara P. Major, Purcellville, VA

Mr. Edward Rice, Vienna, VA

Mr. John C. Rothenberger, Great Falls, VA

Mr. Michael M. Thomas, Reston, VA

Mr. Craig B. Welburn, Manassas, VA

Mr. Eric Kaufmann, Student Representative to the Board,  Laytonsville, MD

Ms. Donna L. Harper, Secretary to the Board, JMU/Harrisonburg, VA

Key Officials at JMU 2017-2018

Central Administration

Mr. Jonathan R. Alger, President

Dr. Heather J. Coltman, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Donna L. Harper, Vice President for Access and Enrollment Management

Mr. Charles W. King Jr., Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance

Dr.  Nicholas L. Langridge, Vice President for University Advancement

Dr. Mark Warner, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs 

College Deans

Dr. Chris Arndt, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Letters

Dr. Mary Gowan, Dean, College of Business

Dr. Phillip M. Wishon, Dean, College of Education

Dr. Sharon Lovell, Dean, College of Health and Behavioral Studies

Dr. Robert Kolvoord, Dean, College of Integrated Science and Engineering

Dr. Adam Murray, Dean of Libraries and Educational Technologies

Dr. Cynthia M. Bauerle, Dean, College of Science and Mathematics

Dr. Linda Cabe Halpern, Dean, University Studies

Dr. George E. Sparks, Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Dr. Jie Chen, Dean, The Graduate School


Mr. Jeffrey T. Bourne, Athletics Director

Dr. Audrey Burnett, Speaker, Faculty Senate/Faculty Rep. to Board of Visitors

2017-2018 James Madison University Board of Visitors

Ms. Vanessa M. Evans-Grevious of Charlottesville, VA is rector of the board and is Vice President for the Ron Brown Scholar Program.  She is a 1993 and 1997 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2014-2018.

Mr. Michael M. Battle of Clarksville, MD is President of Battle Resource Management, Inc.  He  is a 1981 and 1983 (MBA) graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2012-2016 and 2016-2020.

The Honorable William T. Bolling of Mechanicsville, VA is Senior Vice President and Managing Director for RCM&D and is former Lieutenant Governor of Virginia.  Term:  2014-2018.

Mr. Warren K. Coleman of Richmond, VA is vice rector and CFO of Harper Associates LLC.  He is a 1979 and 1981 (MBA) graduate of James Madison University.   Term:  2014-2018.

Mr. Jeffrey E. Grass of Arlington, VA is CEO of buySAFE, Inc.  He is a 1992 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2015-2019.

Mr. Matthew Gray-Keeling of Richmond, VA is the Virginia State Director of The Humane Society of the United States.  He is a 2005 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2015-2019.

Ms. Maribeth D. Herod
of Herndon is Senior Vice President of Bank of America.  She is a 1982 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2016-2020.

Ms. Lucy Hutchinson of New York, NY is Senior Manager for Executive and Commercial Recruiting of Capital One. She is a 2006 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2014-2018.

Ms. Maria D. Jankowski of Richmond, VA is Deputy Director of the Virginia Indigent Defense Commission.  Term:  2015-2019.

Ms. Deborah T. Johnson of Woodbridge, VA is the Regional Policy Director, Dominion Virginia Power.  She is a 1978 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2015-2019.

Ms. Lara P. Major of Purcellville, VA is an Educational Consultant.  She is a 1992 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2016-2020.

Mr. Edward Rice of Vienna, VA is a consultant.  Term:  2014-2018.

Mr. John C. Rothenberger of Great Falls, VA is CEO of Strategic Enterprise Solutions, Inc.  He is a 1988 graduate of James Madison University.  Term 2015-2016 and 2016-2020.

Mr. Michael M. Thomas of Reston, VA is Senior Vice-President of Booz Allen Hamilton.  He is a 1976 and 1977 ( MBA) graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2012-2016 and 2016-2020.

Mr. Craig B. Welburn of Manassas is CEO of ECC Enterprises Holding Company LLC.  He is a 1996 graduate of James Madison University.  Term:  2015-2019.

Mr. Eric Kaufmann is the non-voting Student Representative to the Board.  He is a junior from Laytonsville, MD.  Term:  2017-2018.

Ms. Donna L. Harper of Harrisonburg, Vice President for Access and Enrollment Management, serves as secretary to the board.  She has a bachelor's degree (1977) and educational specialist degree (1986) from JMU.

Dr. Audrey Burnett is the speaker of the JMU Faculty Senate and serves as the non-voting faculty representative to the board.


Back to Top