The Zane Showker Entrepreneurship Scholarship is awarded to a senior of any major who demonstrates entrepreneurial potential during his or her college career. Recipients are selected by a faculty panel.

2016 Winner - Chard Hard

Zane Showker Award WinnerCarol Hamilton, Director of the Center for Entrepreneurship, presented the 2016 Zane Showker Entrepreneurship Award to Chadwick A. Hard (Management, ’16) on Wednesday, April 20, at the Society of Entrepreneurs meeting and new member initiation, held at Capital Ale House in downtown Harrisonburg. Each year, the CFE gives the Zane Showker Entrepreneurship Award to a “high-performing student who displays entrepreneurial spirit and thinking and demonstrates the potential to be a successful entrepreneur, recognized by the Center for Entrepreneurship.”

Read More

2015 Winner - Amanda Presgraves

Amanda Preserves receiving 2015 Zane Showker Award from Carol Hamilton2015 Zane Showker Entrepreneurship Award winner, Amanda Presgraves (Kinesthetics, '16), has seen her idea for a food truck, Fueled, grow from a concept developed at the Shenandoah Valley Small Business Development Center's "What's Cookin'" program, to a business model developed in the spring 2015 MGT 472: Venture Creation class and validated in the Society of Entrepreneurs, and ultimately to a JMU Dining program through Aramark and JMU faculty.

Previous Winners

2016 - Chad Hard

2015 - Amanda Presgraves

2014 - Benjamin Stout

2013 - Matthew McKeon

2012 - Gilbert Welsford

2011 - Lawler Watkins

2010 - Ryan Carrigan

2009 - Christopher Ceccotti

2008 - Daniel J. Mahon

2007 - Jonathan D. Seastrom

2006 - Kimberly B. Tashner

2005 - Nicholas J. Tolley

2004 - Christopher S. Lux

2003 - Steven W. Schollaert

2002 - Nitin Ramlall

2001 - Leslie Inskeep

2000 - Sean MacCarthy

1999 - Terry E. Menteer, Jr.

1998 - Chris Mitchum

1997 - Timothy A. Heydon

1996 - Julie Heath

1995 - Nhan Nguyen

1994 - Robert Twells

1993 - Mark Schneider and William T. Zarotny

1992 - Grant Peregoy, Jeff Forbes, Kent Baake, and Ricky Hayback

1991 - Dr. Hal Teer and Mario Facello

1990 - Charles B. Ruscher and Scott E. Shelton

1989 - Kimberly Y. Arehart

1988 - Mary M. MacDonnell and James C. York

1987 - Beverly Goldblatt

Back to Top