September 24, 2017 Presidential Proclamation:  As promised in the original Executive Order, the Trump Administration has issued additional guidance on countries affected by the travel bans, based on an assessment of which countries have not submitted proof of security measures to the satisfaction of U.S. officials.  Sudan has now been dropped from the list, and Chad, North Korea, and certain citizens of Venezuela have been added.  Restrictions for each of those countries are:  

  • Chad: Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants on B-1/B-2 visas is suspended.

  • Iran:  Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants is suspended; Student (F & M) visas and exchange visitor (J) visas will be permitted, subject to enhanced screening and vetting requirements.

  • Libya: Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants on B-1/B-2 visas is suspended.

  • North Korea: Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants is suspended.

  • Syria:  Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants is suspended.

  • Venezuela: Entry of “officials of government agencies of Venezuela involved in screening and vetting procedures….and their immediate family members” on B-1/B-2 visas is suspended. All nationals of Venezuela will be subject to “appropriate additional measures to ensure traveler information remains current.”

  • Yemen: Entry of immigrants* and nonimmigrants on B-1/B-2 visas is suspended.

  • Somalia: Entry of immigrants* is suspended.  Nonimmigrant visa holders will be subject to “additional scrutiny to determine if applicants are connected to terrorist organizations or otherwise pose a threat to the national security or public safety of the United States.

*Immigrants are banned under this Proclamation.  However, the Proclamation also provides an exception for “any lawful permanent resident of the United States.”  Thus, the distinction seems to be made between those who already hold a green card and those who are attempting to enter the country in order to obtain permanent residence (a green card.)  

On January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an Executive Order that includes the following provisions:

    “(S)uspend entry into the United States, as immigrants and nonimmigrants” for 90 days for citizens of Iran, Iraq*, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Yemen, and Somalia.  (Note that the order does not include people traveling on diplomatic, NATO, C-2, G-1, G-2, G-3, and G-4 visas.)

    Suspend the United States Refugee Admissions Program (USRAP) for 120 days and suspends any Syrian refugee admission indefinitely. 

    Suspend the Visa Interview Waiver Program, under which many people could previously obtain visa renewals without having to go to an interview.

On March 6, 2017, President Trump signed an Executive Order that includes the following updates/clarifications:

“(i)…I am revoking Executive Order 13769 and replacing it with this order, which expressly excludes from the suspensions categories of aliens that have prompted judicial concerns and which clarifies or refines the approach to certain other issues or categories of affected aliens. “

 “(f)…I am imposing a temporary pause on the entry of nationals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen, subject to categorical exceptions and case-by-case waivers, as described in section 3 of this order.”

The Executive Order prohibits entry to the United States of the nationals of those countries who:

(i)   are outside the United States on the effective date of this order;

(ii)   did not have a valid visa at 5:00 p.m., eastern standard time on January 27, 2017; and

(iii)  do not have a valid visa on the effective date of the order [the original Executive Order was effective on March 16, 2017; however the president recently issued a directive making the order effective on the date the injunction is lifted:  June 26, 2017].

Existing visas are not cancelled.  People from the listed countries with valid visas prior to the dates noted above are permitted to travel.  

The Executive Order also suspends refugee processing for 120 days, and suspends refugee travel to the United States for 120 days, unless travel was already scheduled by the Department of State.  The Executive Order reduces the number of refugees the United States will admit from 100,000 to 50,000.

*Iraq has been removed from the list as of March 2017.  Due to the fluidity of the situation and multiple revisions to the Executive Order and interpretations it is of the utmost importance to keep up to date of the regulations and countries impacted by this/these Executive Order(s).

Back to Top