Nicklas Phillips - Boys & Girls Club (Harrisonburg) Graduate Assistant

School of Professional & Continuing Education (SPCE)

Nicklas_200x200_thumb_1.pngBachelors in Neuroscience, minor in Psychology.

Master's in Psychology – Experimental Concentration.

Hometown: Oslo, Norway

What pronouns do you use? He/Him

“Originally from Oslo, Norway I immigrated to the United States at the age of 15 and have lived in the Williamsburg area since then. I have always been interested in the study of the human mind, and have pursued education in both Neuroscience and Psychology. Through electives and research opportunities at JMU I hope to find my niche at the intersection of neuroscience and cognitive psychology and pursue a Ph.D., ideally somewhere on the U.S. west coast, a place I have yet to visit.”

Q: What do you love most about JMU?

A: “I most love the mixture of a small city feeling with a well defined downtown area and the wide open vistas of a more remote location.”

Q: Where do you see yourself professionally in 5 years?

A: “In five years I hope to be finishing up my graduate education or to be working on a post-doc.”

Q: What is most exciting to you about working with SPCE?

A: “I am excited to be able to develop skills which are relevant to my career track as a researcher all the while assisting valuable community organization locally in Harrisonburg.” 

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: “My hobbies include biking, kayaking, cross country skiing, some hiking, and travelling.”


Back to Top

Published: Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Last Updated: Thursday, November 2, 2023

Related Articles