Provost Search Committee Named in 2012


Provost Search Committee Named

Dear Colleagues and Students,

Seal of James Madison UniversityAs you probably know, I have asked that Dr. Mark Warner, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs and University Planning, chair the search committee for the Provost and Senior VP for Academic Affairs position. As called for by the Faculty Handbook, I solicited nominees from the campus community to serve on the search committee. I then identified ten individuals to serve as committee members and subsequently invited them to serve. I am pleased to report that everyone has accepted my invitation. Committee membership consists of the following:

  • Dr. Mark Warner, Chair
  • Dr . Chris Hughes, Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Dr. Bob Kolvoord, Interim Director, School of Engineering
  • Dr. Reid Linn, Dean, The Graduate School
  • Dr. Merle Mast, Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. David Owusu-Ansah, Professor of History
  • Dr. Mary Slade, Professor of Exceptional Education
  • Dr. George Sparks, Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Ms. Diane Stamp, Assistant Vice President, Budget Management
  • Dr. Daphyne Thomas, Professor of Business Law
  • Ms. Alyssa Franklin, student member 

The search committee will begin its task immediately. Finalists for the position will be invited to the campus for interviews and interaction with the university community including faculty, staff and students. Ultimately the search committee will recommend a short list of finalists to President Alger who will make the final selection.

Best wishes for the remaining weeks of the semester!

Linwood H. Rose

Back to Top

Published: Thursday, February 9, 2012

Last Updated: Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Related Articles