Congratulations to SMAD scholarship winners and outstanding seniors

Media Arts and Design

Updated April 29, 2021, with additional award winners

Thanks to deep support from SMAD alumni and other donors, 16 students received scholarships at Wednesday’s SMAD awards ceremony, which premiered on Facebook Live.

Some students applied for competitive scholarships, while faculty selected several of the winners for certain awards. If you missed the ceremony, it’s available on SMAD's Facebook page.

Here are the 2021 SMAD scholarship winners:  

  • Madison Cinema Studies Scholarship ($1,900) — Trusten Murrah
  • Madison Screenwriting Competition ($1,250 each) — Jacob Carter and Jacqueline Hendricks
  • Neckowitz Study Abroad Scholarship ($500) — Adrianna Rippon
  • SMAD Alumni/Professional Advisory Council ($1,600) — Anna Wegh
  • John Woody One Day|One University Scholarship ($1,300) — Chance St. Clair
  • Blanche Garrett Memorial Scholarship ($1,900) — Lexie Burns
  • DVG/Donnie Mongold Scholarship ($1,400) — Kate Harwood
  • Lawrence Cain Memorial Scholarship ($1,400) — Karina Arzubiaga
  • Sen. Harry F. Byrd, Jr.-D. Lathan Mims Scholarship ($4,300) — Charlotte Matherly
  • Sen. Harry F. Byrd, Jr.-D. Lathan Mims Four-Year Scholarship for an incoming student — Graham Skinker
  • Jim Acosta Scholarship ($5,000) — Jake Conley
  • Imre Awards ($2,500 each) — Daniel Cymes and Teodora Hryshchyshyn
  • Alison Bailey Parker Memorial Merit Scholarship ($2,000) — Shelby Walker
  • De Luca Journalism Scholarships ($1,000 each) — Jillian Carey and Jake Conley

SMAD faculty also honored stellar graduating seniors for each of the concentrations. Each concentration named an “outstanding senior” based on that student’s performance in the classroom, especially in concentration classes. And concentrations also selected one or two “top contributors” for their work in class, as well as their efforts in creating media and participating in extracurricular activities.

Here are the top SMAD students from the class of 2021:

SMAD Most Outstanding Senior — Elli Imel (DVC concentration)

Creative Advertising Outstanding Senior — Lindsey Dunn

Creative Advertising Top Contributor — Tanya Faktes

Creative Advertising Top Contributor — Madison Fletcher


Digital Video & Cinema Outstanding Senior — Will Byrnes

Digital Video & Cinema Top Contributor — Hannah Patterson


Interactive Design Outstanding Senior — Allyson Wagner 

Interactive Design Top Contributor — Thy Dao

Interactive Design Top Contributor — Susie Nguyen


Journalism Outstanding Senior — Ryann Sheehy

Journalism Top Contributor — Katelyn Waltemyer

Journalism Top Contributor — Colby Johnson


SMAD student Jessica Kronzer was awarded the outstanding student in the political communications minor.

Back to Top

Published: Thursday, April 15, 2021

Last Updated: Thursday, November 2, 2023

Related Articles