Latest Faculty Accomplishments


Submit scholarly news—publications, paper presentations and professional awards and service (appointment to boards, etc.)—to Janet Smith in Public Affairs at or 568-8008. Or use our online form.

GRANTS (awarded May 2014)

Dr. Anna M. Courtier (Assistant Professor, Geology and Environmental Science) received $70,005 from the National Science Foundation for “Collaborative Research: Investigating the Nature of the Subcontinental Upper Mantel” to understand the relationship between continental lithosphere and the underlying asthenosphere and mantle.

Dr. Daniel M. Downey (Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry) received $10,000 from the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service to inventory the water quality of forest streams and to monitor the effects of stream water chemistry of implementing the management as developed in the forest plans.

Alleyn S. Harned (Executive Director, Virginia Clean Cities) received $10,000 from the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to expand activities regarding alternative fuels and renewable energy in the commonwealth.

John W. Hooke (Patrol Officer, Public Safety and Police) received $12,574 from Firehouse Subs Public Safety Foundation to acquire equipment and supplies to protect JMU police officers in potentially volatile situations and to facilitate quick response.

Joyce H. Krech (Director, Small Business Development Center) received $463,319 from the U.S. Small Business Administration to support the Central Region Small Business Development Center.

Dr. Jacquelyn K. Nagel (Assistant Professor, Engineering) received $8,535 from the National Institute of Standards and Technology to provide undergraduate students with research experience at the laboratories of the institute.

Dr. Cynthia R. O’Donoghue (Head and Professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders) and Dr. Cara Meixner (Assistant Professor, Graduate Psychology; Assistant Director, Center for Faculty Innovation) received $119,897 from the Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services for “Update to Access to Neurobehavior Services in Virginia White Paper” to update the white paper to create an authoritative reference document on statewide needs and costs related to the behavioral health treatment for persons with brain injury, to evaluate systems options and alternatives, to assist policymakers and service providers to clearly understand the issues and to provide a sound basis for decision making related to future policy initiatives.

Dr. Kenneth R. Rutherford (Director, Center for International Stabilization and Recovery; Professor, Political Science) received $10,958 from Action on Armed Violence for “Burundi Prevention of All Types of Violence in Addition to Other Forms of High-Risk Behavior” to prevent and reduce incidences of armed violence in Burundi by supporting the sustainable social, economic and psycho-social integration of vulnerable victims and survivors of armed violence.

Dr. James M. Shaeffer (Associate Vice Provost, Outreach and Engagement) received $2,000 from the Verizon Foundation to support the annual Shenandoah Valley Technology Council’s awards gala, Tech Nite, at JMU.

Dr. Nathan T. Wright (Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry) received $16,895 from the National Institute of Standards and Technology to provide undergraduate students with research experience at the laboratories of the institute.



Dr. Christopher Bachmann (Associate Professor, Integrated Science and Technology; Director, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Laboratory) is the co-recipient, with Dr. Krishna Kodukula of SRI Shenandoah Valley, of the Dr. John Noftsinger Leadership Award from the Shenandoah Valley Technology Council. Bachmann and Kodukula received the award May 7 at the council’s annual Tech Nite 14 for their personal leadership and efforts in the community that have resulted in outstanding benefits to the Shenandoah Valley region.

JMU Facilities Management has been honored by the Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services’ Shenandoah Valley field offices for championing disability employment through partnership with DARS. Facilities Management received the honor May 14 with five other champions of disability employment.

Dr. Debbie C. Sturm (Assistant Professor, Graduate Psychology) was honored May 2 by the Central Valley Counselors Association, a chapter of the Virginia Counselors Association, as Community Counselor of the Year.



Dr. Thomas Adajian (Assistant Professor, Philosophy; Co-director, Logic and Reasoning Institute) was one of three critics who made presentations about the book “Beyond Art” by Dominic Lopes at the American Society for Aesthetics Pacific Division meeting. Following the presentations, Lopes responded to each of the three. The meeting was held April 10 in Pacific Grove, Calif.

Dr. Thomas Adajian (Assistant Professor, Philosophy; Co-director, Logic and Reasoning Institute) presented “Art and the Arts” at the 2014 annual meeting of the Canadian Society for Aesthetics on May 25 at Brock University, St. Catharine’s, Ontario.



Dr. Stanley L. Ulanski (Professor, Geology and Environmental Science) wrote an article, “A River in the Sea,” which was published in Outer Banks Magazine. Written for the general public, the article discussed the nature of the Gulf Stream, an oceanic current, and its potential as a huge untapped energy source.


Scholarly News Archive

Back to Top

Published: Monday, June 9, 2014

Last Updated: Monday, February 22, 2021

Related Articles