Latest Faculty Accomplishments


Submit scholarly news—publications, paper presentations and professional awards and service (appointment to boards, etc.)—to Janet Smith in Public Affairs at or 568-8008.


GRANTS (awarded July 2013)

Dr. Luis Betancourt (Associate Professor, Accounting) received $162,496 from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to serve as a research resource to the commission in the area of conducting, evaluating and interpreting empirical, behavioral and analytical research in auditing and accounting.

Dr. Florian P. Buchholz (Associate Professor, Computer Science) and Dr. M. Hossain Heydari (Professor, Computer Science) received $900,610 from the National Science Foundation to provide scholarship support for undergraduate students for a bachelor of science degree in computer science and information security certification and to provide scholarship support for graduate students for a master’s degree in computer science with a concentration in digital forensics.

Dr. Julia W. Carr (Senior Associate Director, University Recreation; Associate Professor, Hospitality, Sport and Recreation Management) received two grants of $14,910 each from Blue Ridge Community College to oversee two graduate students’ internships experiences provided by BRCC’s Fitness and Recreation Center.

Dr. Beth A. Eck (Head, Sociology and Anthropology; Associate Professor, Sociology) received $6,216 from Carmeuse Lime & Stone to complete the archaeological assessments on the Middle Marsh Parcel.

Kimberley A. Foreman (Associate Dean, College of Business; Lecturer, Accounting) received $313,967 from the Institute of Certified Professional Managers to maintain the organization’s national headquarters on the campus of JMU.

Kimberlee Hartzler-Weakley (Administrator, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) received $489,866 from the Virginia Department of Health for the Shenandoah Valley Child Development Clinic to provide specialized medical, psychological, psychosocial, educational and speech/language/audiology services to children and young adults under the age of 21 in fiscal year 2014. Hartzler-Weakley received $32,687 from the Center for AIDS Intervention Research, Medical College of Wisconsin, for “A Multi-State Analysis of the Impact of HIV Exposure Laws (Year 4)” to recruit statewide samples of people living with HIV and HIV-negative persons at high risk for the infection for data collection sessions.

Joyce H. Krech (Director, Small Business Development Center) received $426,253 from the U.S. Small Business Administration, $2,500 from the City of Lexington, Va., and $500 from Highland County, Va., to support the Central Region Small Business Development Center.

Dr. Stephen A. Leslie (Head and Professor, Geology and Environmental Science) received $32,543 from the National Science Foundation for “Collaborative Research: Testing the Early Late Ordovician Cool Water Hypothesis” to use the geochemical archive of conodont apatite and carbonates to address questions about paleoceanographic conditions in the Ordovician sea on Laurentia.

Dr. M. Ioana Niculescu (Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy), Dr. Kevin L. Giovanetti (Professor, Physics and Astronomy) and Dr. Gabriel Niculescu (Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy) received $105,000 from the National Science Foundation for “RUI: Probing Subatomic Physics via Lepton Interactions” to explore the transition between the perturbative and the non-perturbative regimes, quark confinement and hadronization, and measurements of fundamental quantities.

Dr. Cynthia R. O’Donoghue (Head and Professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders) received $45,500 from the Scottish Rite Foundation of Virginia to continue support of the JMU-Scottish Rite Language Disorders Clinic in fiscal year 2014.

Dr. James M. Shaeffer (Associate Vice Provost, Outreach and Engagement) received $47,415 from the Shenandoah Valley Technology Council to support the salary for the council coordinator/director, an assistant and operational expenses.

Dr. James M. Shaeffer (Associate Vice Provost for Outreach and Engagement) and Donald R. Sullenberger (Chief Executive Officer, Shenandoah Valley Partnership) received $266,283 from the partnership to provide economic development support services for its regional members, prospects, existing businesses and the partnership in fiscal year 2014.

Dr. Michael L. Stoloff (Associate Dean, College of Health and Behavioral Studies; Professor, Psychology) and Dr. Joann H. Grayson (Professor Emerita, Psychology) received $48,413 from the Virginia Department of Social Services to publish and distribute the Virginia Child Protection Newsletter throughout Virginia in fiscal year 2014.

Nick D. Swayne (Coordinator for External Relations, College of Education; Interim Director, Education Support Center; Instructor, Learning, Technology and Leadership Education) received $30,000 from Rockwell Collins Charitable Corp. to help promote growth of the FIRST LEGO League in Washington, D.C., as well as in rural areas and school divisions with Title I designation. Swayne received $2,000 from Virginia city and county donors to provide sponsorship of robotics teams.

Dr. Rhonda M. Zingraff (Associate Dean, College of Health and Behavioral Studies; Director, Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services) received $6,230 from Crossroads to Brain Injury Recovery Inc. to provide services to individuals affected by brain injuries, maximizing rehabilitation and contributing to the community.



Dr. David Owusu-Ansah (Professor, History; Special Assistant to the President for Faculty Diversity), Dr. Mark Sey of the University of Cape Coast, Ghana) and Dr. Abbdulai Iddrisu of St. Olaf College wrote “Islamic Learning, the State and the Challenges of Education in Ghana,” a book published by Africa World Press.

Scholarly News Archive

Back to Top

by Eric Gorton

Published: Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Last Updated: Monday, May 20, 2024

Related Articles