Rutherford, Fink, Jerome Honored by JMU

Matt Rutherford

Dr. Matt Rutherford, Professor of Management, has been awarded the 2014 College of Business Distinguished Teaching Award. This award goes each year to a College of Business faculty member who has an established record of exemplary teaching.

Rutherford’s research primarily focuses on issues related to corporate governance. He also has an interest in the relationships that form between federal regulatory agencies and the industries they monitor. His work has appeared in journals such as the Academy of Management Learning and Education, Journal of Management Studies, Corporate Governance: An International Review, Business & Society, and the Journal of Management Inquiry. 

Jason FinkDr. Jason Fink, Chandler/Universal Professor of Banking and Professor of Finance, has been selected as the 2014 College of Business Madison Scholar. The Madison Scholar designation is awarded each year to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary research throughout his or her academic career.

Fink won the Best Academic Publication Award in 2006, 2008, 2011 and 2013, and the Best Educational Publication Award in 2008.  He also received a Faculty Research grant in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2013. 

In 2009, Fink won the College of Business Best Academic Research Publication Award. His work has appeared in journals such as Financial Management, The Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, Energy Economics, and Journal of Banking and Finance.

Bob JeromeDr. Robert Jerome, Professor of Economics and International Business, has been selected as the recipient of the 2014 College of Business Community Service Award. Jerome teaches international economics and principles of economics. He earned his B.A. from Texas Christian University and his Ph.D. from the University of Virginia. 

Congratulations to Rutherford, Fink, and Jerome for their outstanding achievements!

Published: Monday, March 24, 2014

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Back to Top

Related Articles