JMU Headlines

June 2016 Board of Visitors Summary of Actions and Discussions

by Bill Wyatt


The James Madison University Board of Visitors met on Friday, June 3, 2016 at 1 p.m. in the Board Room of the JMU Festival Conference and Student Center.

The following is a summary of key areas of discussion at the board meeting:

Received the president’s report from Mr. Jonathan Alger during which the board was told:

  • 3,280 undergraduates and 593 graduate students were awarded degrees at the May commencement exercises;

  • A number of JMU faculty and students have earned prestigious awards:

    • Fulbright Scholars:

      • Dr. Maureen Shanahan, Art History

      • Dr. Louise Temple, Integrated Science and Technology

      • Dr. Lincoln Gray, Communication Sciences and Disorders

      • Dr. Matt Lee, Psychology

    • Student Fulbright Scholarship:

      • Rachel Palkovitz (’16), Biological Anthropology

    • Dr. Kristen St. John was named a Fellow of the Geological Society of America

    • Anna Nordseth, a junior biology major, has been named a Udall Scholar

  • Dr. David Brakke, Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, is retiring;

  • A team of JMU students won the 2nd Annual Hack-a-thon in Richmond claiming a $10,000 prize;

  • The Breeze was named best all-around non-daily newspaper by the Society of Professional Journalists, Region 2;

  • University Advancement just completed their third Madison Trust event;

  • JMU has hired three recent graduates to serve as engagement fellows;

  • JMU has partnered with the Gallup organization to conduct an alumni survey;

  • The women’s softball team achieved the most wins in program history and advanced to the NCAA Super Regional tournament for the first time in history;

  • Men’s golf team member Ryan Cole became the first JMU golfer ever to qualify for the NCAA Championship;

  • Track and Field sent four athletes – Kathleen Stewart, Carol Strock, Olivia Viparina, and Amber Monroe – to NCAA competition;

  • Women’s lacrosse qualified for the NCAA tournament;

  • 18 student-athletes were named to the President’s List for the spring semester and another 66 were named to the Dean’s List;

  • Received a report on the Valley Scholars program from Donna Harper, Vice President for Access and Enrollment Management, and Shaun Mooney, Director of Valley Scholars.

The Board of Visitors took the following actions: 

  • Approved the minutes of the April 8, 2016 meeting;

  • Approved revisions to the Faculty Handbook;

  • Approved bond resolutions relating to the construction of a new dining hall and the USB annex;

  • Approved utility easements to the City of Harrisonburg for the purpose of widening Martin Luther King Jr. Way;

  • Approved resolutions relating to the Restructured Higher Education Financial and Administrative Operations Act;

  • Approved the 2016 – 2017 budget:



$ Change


Education & General





Auxiliary Enterprises





Financial Aid





Sponsored Programs





Total Operating*









*Excludes Equipment Trust Fund (ETF)

  • Approved the purchase of real property at 1260 Hillcrest Avenue, Harrisonburg for $310,000;

  • Approved the purchase of real property at 705 Hickory Hill Drive, Harrisonburg for $315,000;

  • Elected board officers for the 2016-2017 term.  Vanessa Evans-Grevious has been elected to serve as Rector and Warren Coleman to serve as the board’s Vice-Rector.  Ms. Donna Harper, Vice President for Access and Enrollment Management, will serve as secretary.

Back to Top

Published: Friday, June 3, 2016

Last Updated: Friday, April 19, 2019

Related Articles