Eight JMU faculty members nominated for statewide honor


James Madison University has nominated eight individuals for the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia’s prestigious Outstanding Faculty Awards. The awards recognize superior accomplishments in teaching, research and public service.

The nominees are:

Dr. David Bernstein, professor of computer science

Dr. Brenda “B.J.” Bryson, professor of social work

Dr. Frances Flannery, associate professor of philosophy and religion

Dr. Daniel G. Gallagher, professor of management, who currently holds the CSX Distinguished Professorship in Management

Dr. Teresa Harris, professor of early, elementary and reading education

Dr. Brian T. Kaylor, assistant professor of communication studies (Rising Star category)

Dr. Gina MacDonald, professor of chemistry and biochemistry

Dr. Steven J. Whitmeyer, associate professor of geology and environmental science (Teaching with Technology category)

Outstanding Faculty Award winners will be recognized in February during a ceremony in Richmond. Each recipient will receive an engraved award and a $5,000 check underwritten by the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources. 


Published: Monday, October 7, 2013

Last Updated: Thursday, October 20, 2016

Back to Top

    Related Articles

  • CCN Student volunteers CCN empowers caregivers and students

    In Harrisonburg and its surrounding areas, the aging population is expected to skyrocket through 2030. Students are working with the Caregivers Community Network to accommodate the needs of this rapidly growing populatio

  • PHOTO: Caroline Whitlow #CHBSChats with Caroline Whitlow

    #CHBSChats with Caroline Whitlow - Our series of informal chats with students

  • therapy without a therapist Therapy Without a Therapist

    Therapy without a Therapist: the Health Center and Counseling Center Present on Self-Care