Approved Minutes for this Meeting (MS Word Format)

The James Madison University Board of Visitors met Friday, June 24, 2005, in the Board Room of Madison's College Center. Following is a summary of actions taken by the board and key areas of discussion at the board meeting: 

·  Approved a $296.2 million operating budget for 2005-06. The new budget represents a 10.2 percent -- or $27.3 million -- increase over the 2004-05 budget of $268.9 million. The largest portion of the budget, $158 million, will go for educational and general programs -- those directly or indirectly involving academic programs. Another $99 million will go toward auxiliary enterprises -- self-supported functions that provide a variety of services for students. 

·  Approved the naming of the new College of Visual and Performing Arts, which will be comprised of the School of Art and Art History, the School of Music, the School of Theatre and Dance and the Madison Art Collection.  

·  Heard a report from Lt. Col. Dominic Swayne, department head, on the JMU ROTC Duke Battalion. 

·  Passed a resolution for the Higher Education Financial and Administration Operations Act that commits James Madison University to meeting the goals of the Higher Education Restructuring Act to allow the university to exercise restructured financial and operational authority. 

·  Passed a resolution directing the university to pursue acquisition of properties vital to the development of the university's center for the performing arts.

·  Was told by President Linwood H. Rose:

  • That Madison had again met all the management standards established for state colleges and universities. The standards require solid financial practices, proper audits, correct financial reporting standards and attainment of standards for accounts receivable and accounts payable.
  • That anticipated fall 2005 enrollment will be higher than projected by roughly 200 freshmen.
  • That the CAA will sponsor Division I-AA football in the 2007 season. Members of the new conference will include the current 12 members of the Atlantic-10 Football Conference. Those 12 teams will continue their affiliation with the A-10 through the 2006 season.

Back to Top